Special Birthday

Murali celebrated a milestone birthday last month. He turned 40. And as he keeps cringing about me publicly labeling that he turned 40 (well, he did. Didn’t he? πŸ™‚ ), I keep on doing it. My super awesome plan was to do something extra awesome special because it is a special birthday, but I also ended up planning it super awesomely but not doing anything until exactly a week before the birthday.

So on T- 5 (okay, less than a week), I look around and realize I haven’t planned anything special and also realize that I should have. Too bad. It was too late anyway for anything fancy. So I decided to throw him a simple party with few friends. We threw him a total surprise birthday party back in 2014, and I know he is not a big fan of surprises or even celebrations, so it should be okay keeping it simple.

Murali conveniently turned 40 on a Saturday, so that was a win for us. So, on Monday before , I pinged a couple of our friends; Literally sent them a save the date text with little details. Ordered cake on Wednesday. Food on Thursday. Confirmed timings to friends on Friday. That is it. That was all I did (Yes, disappointing for a 40th birthday, I know).

Oh! I also ordered special 40th birthday T-Shirts for him to wear. I didn’t leave any opportunity to remind him of his new age. πŸ˜€

On the D-Day, Murali went fishing in the morning with his colleagues. I actually super encouraged him to go so that I can get some chores done while he was gone. You see, I didn’t even get a chance to buy any birthday decorations, and I had to do all that on Saturday, dragging kids with me.

Abhi and Achu, though were very excited about birthdays and celebrations, and I am glad they are. I want them to be like me when it comes to birthdays. πŸ™‚ Β After Murali left (which was pretty early), I got kids ready and headed to the party store first. We got some decorations, paper plates etc, again, all of them to remind him about turning 40. πŸ™‚

And while heading back home, we stopped at a spa and made a massage appointment for him, for the same morning. We all went home and our plan was to decorate before Murali came in but he was early and pulled-in right at the same time. We hid some of our decorations. Later Murali put on his new t-shirt and we sent him to the massage and got the decorations done. Went to store again to pick up few more party stuff and also the birthday cake.

Initially, we wanted to do an India theme birthday party for him, since he just came back from India and wouldn’t stop talking about the food and his trip, in general (even before he left). But that didn’t work out. You know because of my super awesome planning skills. πŸ™‚ So, I at least wanted to get him a fun cake. I found this on a T-Shirt on the internet but couldn’t find the shirt anywhere. So I got it on a cake. πŸ™‚

image.jpg

Few friends couldn’t make it to the party, so they came over in the afternoon to greet. Then, we passed time until friends came over. Took a trip to the near by water preserve – Β a little hike with kiddos. Evening time, our close friends (our Friday meetup gang) got here first. So we had time to just enjoy by ourselves. Soon, others started arriving. I love to see my house full of people. Everybody chatting, drinking, and having a good time. One thing i ordered special for the birthday was food. I ordered all of Murali’s favorites. I ordered his favorite mirchi bajji that we have been gobbling down every Friday for past couple of weeks but took a break. Dinner was the same. His favorite Andhra foods along with cut mirchi again. People were confused but I wanted him to have all of what he liked the most. πŸ™‚ We had mudda pappu and avakaya, with ghee, and its a very special food for us. Β Everybody loved it. I was told I could have just made that ready and not order any other food. πŸ™‚

Some time later, kids blew the candles, we cut the cake. People were already full on heavy snacks and nobody wanted to eat soon anyway. P came up with this idea to play dumb charades and by the time we started to play all the guests were Telugu speaking people. And the next two hours was so much fun. We all laughed out loud. Everybody had fun. We did girls vs boys, and turned out boys were very bad at playing the game. We pretty much won. It’s been a long time I had fun laughing out loud like this. Totally loved it. Kids also played on their own, somewhere in the house, and had fun on their own.

Way late into the night, every body ate and left. It was almost mid-night. This was also the first time kids stayed up this late.

All in all, even though I didn’t plan to throw a most awesome super fun party for a special occasion, we all had fun spending some lovely time with friends.

Here is wishing more of happy birthdays and happy celebrations. πŸ™‚

P.S: How do I say one more time that Murali turned 40, so I can annoy him more? πŸ™‚ Wait, I just did. Heheh. πŸ˜€

 

11 thoughts on “Special Birthday

  1. Awww your party explanation made to throw a party at home!! I love such sort of house parties. They are totally cool, you can have fun and relax with your friends without worrying about restaurants, hotels or bars getting closed.

    Wishing Murali a very happppppppppppppppy birthday!!! πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ

Leave a Reply

