Little Things

Recently, we were trying to recollect what was that letter Abhi couldn’t pronounce when he started to talk. One was R, he couldnt say that. Other one, I cant remember what it is, but for the longest time he would substitute some letter and make it so funny for us. Too bad, I didn’t write it down. Like I have always felt, I should go around these guys with a recorder.

***

I was turning on light somewhere in the house, by mistake, I hit it too fast, so it went on, off and on again.

Achu comes to me, in the most serious tone ever: “You know you are a grown-up. Dont play with the light switch”.

***

Abhi was doing something funny and silly. As the doting mom, I asked him to do it again, so that I can record it. He replies,

“I hate to disappoint you amma, but I have far more speeching to do”.

I don’t know what speeching it was.

***

Achu sums up her day.

“Another day I have seen with Abhi and Achu the queen”.

***

Abhi was crying for something. These days, I assign one kid to help the other. What is the point of having two kids, otherwise? 🙂

Achu goes, “Abhi, if you want my help, stop crying and put a smile on your face”

I swear, she didn’t get this from me.

***

Abhi sneezes, looks around,

“Is anybody going to say bless you?”

***

And the most important discussion of my life with Abhi on the potty seat.

Me: “Are you done Abhi?”

Abhi: “No I have to go poopy. I am trying so hard. But it’s not coming out.”

Me: “You dont have to tell me all that Abhi”

Abhi: “But I just want you to know Amma.”

I start laughing at this very important point that I was supposed to know.

Abhi: “Amma, stop. If you laugh like that, I think you are laughing at my bladder.”

I couldn’t stop laughing.

Abhi (with the most serious face): “Amma, If you laugh like that, I think you are laughing at my potty tricks….bathroom tricks”

I had to turn around and not see him for a minute. I couldn’t stop laughing at his bathroom tricks.

***

Now, Achu in bathroom. I am no where near her and I hear her counting.

“One. Out”, “Two… Out”, “Common three”.

When she came out, I decided not to ask her. I didn’t want to know. But kids tell you important stuff anyway.

“Amma, I did three poopies in the potty today”.

Like I said, I didn’t want to know that.

 

6 thoughts on “Little Things

Leave a Reply

