The Lazy Long Weekend

Thanksgiving long weekend has come and gone. Just like most of the year. Our wedding anniversary, spring, summer, all four birthdays, end of summer, fall and Halloween. All of them have come and gone. This Thanksgiving I realized that I didn’t even think once about planning a day trip during the break. Usually when holidays are coming, I plan and see if we can go somewhere, but this time thought of travel was nowhere close to my brain.

Hence, the lazy weekend. I planned and took off from work, Wednesday early, to go shopping. Thankful to the stores that realize mommies like me can’t really go Black Friday shopping at 2 in the morning (or not even any part of that day), and have their sales from Wednesday. Isn’t that nice? I beat the rush and got some good deals. I bought sweaters and dresses for me and for kids. I even went home decor shopping, but it didn’t work out much that day.

Thanksgiving break is usually when my Christmas decoration and lights come out. My goal this time was to decorate the house completely and make it look like Winter wonderland. So when I finally decided to go shopping on Saturday for home decor and bought stuff for $50, I thought I had everything I need. 🙂 Turns out I didn’t. I would like all my home to show the holiday mood, and currently only one corner of our home is doing that. So, back to shopping I will be, this weekend (hopefully).

wp_20161127_23_05_11_pro

We bought some lights already and I spent Thanksgiving morning fixing them, while kids watched TV and Murali cooked. It was a perfect scene. Most of the weekend rained for us this time. I don’t have a picture, but it’s usually so serene out here when it rains like this. I love it.

We have more outdoor lights to buy obviously, there is a lot of ground area to light up. Remember winter wonderland goal. 🙂 So that’s yet to be done.

wp_20161124_17_42_47_rich

Friday morning, we also did Satyanarayana Swamy Vratam at home, all by ourselves. We usually get a poojari to come help with the procedure, but this I wanted to try on our own. Hoping that it would make us more involved with the process and I am glad I did it. It was more peaceful prayer this time than following what being told. I think this might be another tradition for us to keep. We did the same Pooja last Thanksgiving as well. 🙂

Recently, I broke my ‘no eating out at a restaurant’ rule and I have been waiting to go to this Indian place that Murali and I love. Their Naan and Paneer were the most authentic and yummiest. But you know like that effect where you want something so bad, and when you get it, it doesn’t feel that good? We didn’t love the food this time. But still was nice to go eat out and not have to cook.

We also ate out a Mexican restaurant Sunday night. This is kind of becoming our family tradition. Kids love the food here (obviously) and I love the Margaritas. This should totally be our routine every Sunday night, especially given that I get so depressed then thinking about work. We came back from the restaurant and decide to sit next to the tree and sing songs. 🙂

img-20161128-wa0002

This is also the time of the year when I love keeping my living room in the dark just for those tree lights. I don’t know what is it with these lights that I love, but it just cheers me up. We stopped decorating our tree after a while and decided to get other color ornaments. 🙂 Can you see the red car with tree on top in my book shelf? Isn’t it cute? 🙂

img-20161128-wa0003

I don’t even remember stepping out of the house except for this shopping and food. I took a nap almost every day with kids. They both have been a bit sick the whole weekend and naps were needed, for all of us. 🙂 Rainy weather did its thing and made us even more lazy.

Here is to more lazy weekends. I can’t wait for the winter break.

Leave a Reply

