This And That

Because today is Friday and I swore to write at least once a week and I can only write down random stuff.

I declared our last weekend was ruined. Because it was a beautiful sunny day and we didn’t step out of the house until 4 in the afternoon. Tell me, isn’t the day ruined already? There was some shopping to do, so I headed out to do that with my shopping buddy (Achu), and the rest of the family tagged along. And en route I decided to salvage rest of the sunny day and go to the nearby Watershed Preserve instead. This place is so close to where we live, there is a swamp, bunch of trails and some horse poop (which a certain little boy might have stepped on to test it. I am always proud of his explorations even if his feet smell bad and I have to hold him 🙂 ). Recently, people around our communities have spotted a cougar going around, so I was worried we might end up seeing one, but we didn’t. Yeah, I panic more than I need to. Although we never got to the swamp, we walked on a nice forest-y trail. Achu wanted to show off her running skills and ran off on the trail while Abhi and I chased her. I have to tell you I didnt run any slow to catch her. When I chase her these days, I have to run at full speed. She is pretty fast. 🙂

Did you know that I made a new resolution on Mother’s day? I read a post about how mothers are not part of any pictures and that stuck me hard. I can barely find myself in pictures in the last four years, especially with kids. I always think I am looking tired and not dressed etc or am just too busy to include myself in the picture. This post I read, talked about how kids don’t remember the young and fresh faces of their mothers, only remember the exhausted look. That’s how I remember my mom and dad as well. I know how they looked when they were young but that’s not the picture that comes to mind, right? Anyway, starting our San Diego trip, I started talking the ever so popular Selfies with kids (I know I am so late 🙂 ).

Did anyone tell you that as kids grow up it gets easy? Yeah, they are wrong. They are all so wrong. No it doesn’t. And I didn’t find out about this now. When Abhi and Achu were babies and every time somebody told me it will get easy in a year or two, I didn’t think it would be true. Just look around for parents with older kids. Challenges you face with older kids are much serious than changing diapers, worrying about cold and fevers. Take us now for example. Abhi and Achu are out of diapers. Potty trained, except for occasional accidents. Sleeping through the night (at least not disturbing like earlier). In fact, weekend afternoons, sometimes, Murali and I take nap, after telling Abhi and Achu to stay upstairs. We don’t even have to watch them like earlier.

So, is it all easy now? Nope. It’s not. Because now I worry about far more important things like their attitude, their social behaviour, the way they get scared when trying something new. Point in topic being Abhi was enrolled in swimming class this week. And just as I expected, he cried most of the session. It worries me looking at other kids who seem to just jump into the water without any hesitation; Why does it take so much crying and coercing to get these two kids started on anything? Achu still cries everyday to go to school and I watch painfully while other parents (who don’t even get down from their cars) just cheerfully wave bye to their kids. This is a pattern and it takes a struggle to get them to try anything new. Sigh. My kids are too behind on the playground; Other kids seem to know a lot of things already. My worries are endless. I, myself hate change. So I don’t know why I expect kids to be different.

Attitude towards life is the utmost important thing in life. It determines how happy you will be no matter what you have or not have. I see folks with plenty of that problem and I fear if Abhi and Achu will be the same. Why do we expect kids to be just better versions of ourselves? I need some convincing. After all, challenges we face now are far simpler than those in future when we talk about grades and life choices. Oh, God. Lets not talk about that.

Unexpectedly, Sunday turned out to be an eventful day for kids. I took them to their friend’s place for a play date. And all the kids had a blast playing with water. It was a really hot day. What was good was that I enjoyed the outing as well, chatting with other moms.

Abhi and Achu are turning four next month. Unlike last two years, this time there will be a birthday party. We are planning on doing this at our favorite farm park. Lot of things need to be figured out. Hopefully they will have fun at their own party.

Leave a Reply

