Firsts

January was a month of firsts. I don’t know why so, may be its something every month, but, this is the first time it seems there were many firsts.
***
I watched a movie after a long time. And for the first time, I arranged to drop off kids at P’s house for babysitting with her. I have been preparing kids for babysitting, but I couldn’t convince myself to trust kids with some stranger. So I asked if P and her husband could babysit while we watched a movie and they were more than happy. I packed cupcakes, chocolates, coloring papers, books. I was worried even leaving them with me, knowing that, that was the safest baby sitting I can get. Even P was asking me to forget about kids and enjoy the movie. Movie was great. It was Star Wars and I so loved it. It all worked so well. Kids had a great time too. Achu got her nails painted, for the first time. If it was left to me, I wouldn’t have let that happen for few more years. Oh, well. Its one harmless girly thing. Its okay to let that happen.
***
We have a Guitar at home. Then my parents bought my violin back (Which, honestly I haven seen in months. What ever happened to trying to relearn it 😦 ). Now we have one more musical instrument at home. This one. I just love this picture of Achu playing in the Christmas tree backdrop. I want to learn and play at least one song on the Casio. I think its going to ‘Twinkle Twinkle’. πŸ™‚ Btw, speaking of Christmas tree, we also removed the tree and all other festive decorations. Well, except for those two Halloween pumpkins. πŸ™‚
SavedPicture-201621152715.jpg
***
One of my new year resolutions this year has to been to spend more time outdoors with kids, sunny or not. This weekend was perfect weather for a trip. Not a sunny day perfect, only no rain and not too freezing cold. So, we headed out to Olallie State Park. We were at this state park in last summer and it was a blast. kids and I got completely drenched playing in the water (It would have been in my summer post, if I ever got to it). My idea of a hike with 3.5 year old twins was to only stroll around for few minutes and then head back. For few minutes, kids were in their stroller, but kids got down after a while and walked around. Abhi went back quickly because he had to pee (He always has to. We are running out of places for him to pee when we go out πŸ™‚ ). Achu, after getting down her stroller, pushed the stroller all by herself, through out the hiking time. Normally, it would have been okay, but because of the stormy weather from last couple of days, the route was full of twigs big and small and she patiently learnt to navigate her stroller so that it wont be stuck. You would think things like this are simple, but for kids its something to learn. I taught her to check where her stroller was struck, front or back and lift the stroller or turn to go around it. She eventually learnt and navigated like a pro-stroller pusher. πŸ™‚ At the end, she was walking side by side with me, pushing her little stroller. It was so cute. Oh, in the middle of the hike, she also left her stroller and did a little happy dance for me. She didn’t tell me what she was happy about, but she kept on dancing. πŸ™‚
***
And then the best first of the month. A gift for the all hard work I put in form of motherhood. A very own gift from my kids. Lice. yep. Lice. We have a lice problem at home now. And I so hate hate hate hate hate it. πŸ™‚ Seriously, Abhi caught it first. I don’t know from where. We gave him a deep hair cut that got rid of most of them and then I ran in panic mode to get a special shampoo, clean, pick and repeat. We constantly use the term nit picking at our work, but the very word annoys me so much. Then, Achu got it. Then, Me. Yep. Me too. Even as a kid, I hated when I had lice. Now I hate it million times over. I just hate it. I have been reading and researching everyday. I got olive oil, vinegar and combing. I cant tell if we all still have it, but I continue to nit pick in panic mode, every day. Aargh! I hate it.
***
Are you sitting down for my next revelation? You better be. My reading goal for last year was one book a month. I failed, cheated and managed to read only six. But guess what happened in January? I read three books already. Three. I mean, THREE. Can you believe it? Me, I found time to read not one, not two, three books. Okay. I will cut the drama now. but seriously, I am so excited that I managed to make time for reading. Of course, this extra time came from compromising on sleep, work, cleaning or cooking. But it was so worth it. πŸ™‚
5 thoughts on “Firsts

    1. You really cannot escape. I am hearing all kind of horror stories from other friend moms. Apparently once you get it, it will take atleast 3 months to get rid of it. That is, if they don’t catch it again. So far nothing OTC worked, Hair checking is the only thing that seems to work. If I can the two little heads to hold still for a minute. πŸ™‚

  1. Aww πŸ™‚ achu is growing big eh! i wish they remain as lil babies for some more time πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ try for perlice lotion the result will be really nice. continue for a week your hair will be free from those black lil demons! trust me. if you want you can check in for the reviews in online.

Leave a Reply

