Christmas Break – I

Breaks are always a nice thing. Especially when its a break from kids, work, kids, home, kids, work cycle. A cycle that goes on every day for almost 300 days of an year.  So, when the month of December is approaching, there is cheer everywhere. I am not sure if it is just the holiday spirit, some people like me are just happy to break the routine, do extra shopping, go on unplanned trips and have fun with the kiddos. Honestly, the last few months have been so crazy that, this Christmas break, I felt like I am seeing my children after a long time. Okay. May be  a little exaggeration, but it was some what close to that.

Our plan (over Margaritas, made couple of months ago), was to take two trips every year. One small trip. One big trip. Small trip happened to be the beach trip for kiddos third birthday in summer. But the big trip never happened. Yeah I dreamed of Cancun, Hawaii, Cabot. All stayed the dream. Why, you ask? No reason. Just didn’t happen. That’s it. The plan stays so maybe next year will be that? We will see.

So, coming back to our happy break, despite the record cold here, we managed to step out of the house and make happy memories. There were trips to the shopping centers, kid’s first carousel ride, a train trip. Love for anything Star Wars related increased. We set out on a road trip one day and landed at the beautiful Snoqualmie falls. I have such fun memories of this place, visiting with my friends on my first trip to US. Unmarried, no kids, not much responsibilities, happy job, great friends. What has that been like? I cant remember. 🙂 Anyway, this was a short trip on Christmas day, but serene and beautiful as ever.

WP_20151225_11_32_37_Rich

We binge watched Great Britain Baking Show on Netflix and drooling over all those yummy delicious treats, we set out to find a bakery that was open. We had to get some good stuff in to our tummies. It being Christmas eve, no bakeries were open, but we were persistent. One has to be, when it comes to yummy delicious treats. 🙂 We found one, finally and savored tasty high calorie stuff. We plan to go back soon.

We also welcomed a new pet fish. Again, I know. The last one, Buthabey, passed from some…umm.. fish problems. Buthabey was P and Murali’s responsibility, so we will just blame them. This time, its a she-fish. After much deliberation over naming, we named her Dory (From finding Nemo). There were some strong contenders for naming the fish. I preferred Boo or Indominus. Abhi wanted to call it Rexy. Achu wanted to name her Buthabey again. Hmm. What was she thinking. Buthabey is clearly a guy fish name. Anyway, she later suggested Dory and we went with it. Since Abhi named the last fish. Dory is swimming fine for now. She will continue to, if we don’t forget to feed and change her water.

SavedPicture-20161716598.jpg

Then there was more shopping. Who knew, it would be cheaper to buy Christmas decorations after Christmas is over. Seriously, I scored so many goodies for $30 and saved them all for next year. Yayy me. I want to forget about the cakes and the cupcakes I ate (and still eating), but of course I cannot. I can see them on me now. 🙂

Then there were more trips. To the snow mountains. And then the beach with a pleasant twist. I should save that for another post because so much happened. 🙂

And hey, our christmas tree was all decorated too. With two special stars from the kiddos on the top. 🙂

WP_20151213_009

3 thoughts on “Christmas Break – I

  1. Love the festive spirit of the X-mas tree at your home, especially those two special stars 🙂
    Snoqualmie falls look amazing and glad that you indulged in the sugar rush, cause that’s what festivals are about, as far fitness, we’ve got a whole year for that 😀
    Good luck with taking care of Dory 😀

Leave a Reply

