Best Dreams

BFF: You know that friends of ours, they are on a tour to Thailand. Left the kids with their parents and are taking a trip.

Me (Knowing her answer already): So, when the little one gets a little older, why don’t you and H leave the kids with your parents and take a trip? You know you both need the break too.

BFF (as expected): No way. I can never trust anybody else with my kids. Never. It’s either H and Me. That’s all.

As expected, because the same was the case with me. I could never think of leaving my kids to some nanny and make an international trip. I mean, I have tried and I never got any close to the deciding part. But if I did, I know I could never trust anybody that well to feel better and be guilty-free. Maybe with a nanny who used to work for us, but not guilty-free, not happy.

And that is exactly when and how a greatest idea was born.

Me: Alright. How about you and I, plan and take a trip? H will take care of kids over there. Murali will take care of kids over here. We don’t have to worry about who is taking care of kids and we both know we need that break.

And for the next one hour, BFF and I went on over to live on cloud nine, thinking how fantastic that idea was. How awesome it would be. She could visit USA or we could meet somewhere in between and take a week-long trip. Singapore and Malaysia are ruled out because they are not foreign enough for me now. London is exciting to me but boring to her. Costa Rica and Hawaii sound awesome, even though one of us geographically challenged to know where they are. You know who it is now. Lol. There is Switzerland too (apparently with free accommodation 🙂 ), and we don’t care if people think we are a lesbian couple 🙂 . The thought of making a trip on the Euro Rail is amazing. And apparently there is that DDLJ poster somewhere over there and a photo needs to be taken over that spot. We discussed about what dresses we are going to wear. Anything below the knee is ruled out. So there was discussion about Epilators vs. Razors; You know, all important stuff. 🙂

The destination decision is on me. Possibilities are endless. Budget, you know, not so much. 🙂 And so needs very careful planning. In any way, this trip is at least 6 months away. Spring of next year for us. But the thought of touring with my BFF, meeting her after almost 10 years. Wow. Knowing that she needs this trip as much as I do. And then, even though it has literally been only five hours we thought of this trip, I already dream of doing this annually. And then one year, when girls are old enough, they will join us. Little A first. Later, Achu. And then little M. Just gals trip. One trip. Doesn’t that sound fantastic? 🙂

How I wish this dream or plan came true? It’s not like this was the first time this sort of greatest idea hit me. This decision was once made to go on a Europe trip, just Murali and me. Leaving kids with my parents in Hyderabad (during my India trip 2 years ago). I was so excited and looking forward to it, because I needed that break and something nice in life that time. It didn’t happen. And then we had the best nanny we could afford, who was all willing to care of kids while we took a trip like this. Didn’t happen. Then there is the parents visiting along with nanny being around, when we could have taken a trip. Nothing. The thing is nothing works out with this guy. There is work or something always. You cannot get any thing done when you don’t put your heart into it. And to be the one always asking gets old, especially for the person asking. Not to mention I am the only one trying to initiate and make everything happen. Besides, no offence, I would love more, the company of my best friend ever, after 10 years, on a trip I need, more than anything. You know, unless someone hires the best nanny for the whole trip and let all the kids come with us. That is the only thing that can beat a trip with BFF. 🙂

Anyway, I don’t know if this is one of those things I plan and never happens. At least I am trying with a different person. So the thought of it happening is very exciting. Like I said, next year is THE time. Somewhere awesome, somewhere budget friendly. May be just a resort and by the beach? Maybe more scenic and travelling. If that trip ever happens, I know beautiful memories will be made. Most fun will be had. There will short dresses, Margaritas, tons of pictures and millions of smiles.

I really pray our dream comes true. I really really really do. 🙂

Posted in Me

13 thoughts on “Best Dreams

  1. Been reading your blog for sometime now and delurking. This post of yours struck a chord with me because I am in the exact situation as yours. But reading this made me realize why I never thought of this idea of planning with bff instead of waiting for the family

  2. a chord resonated! been planning a get together of sorts with my two school buddies since the last two years. we are now in cities apart, but family and jobs don’t let us meet. to top it all, two of them have now less than one year babies!! thinking how to finally meet up..

  3. I really hope you do this! Like you, we haven’t taken a trip without the child. The BFFs trip with hubbies to watch the kids sounds great. I get a few hours or days with my BFF when I travel for work and it’s always fun. Not done a girls trip though and your post is so inspiring 🙂

  4. Man i ssooooooo wanna do that too. Forget Europe, I’d be happy to just go to Coorg even. I too have been planning Biiiig things for a while now, and i have planned mostly with my BFF, i have no hopes from the husband 😉 But even so, it seems like it wont happen, at least not yet. Maybe a weekend trip….or maybe just a day…maybe….aaaaaaaaaaaahh!

Leave a Reply

