That Awesome Thing

So, how could I do something so awesome in life and feel so awesome and not write about it for two months? Ahh. Life is crazy. Well, to get to the crazy part, I will first finish writing about the awesome part.

I don’t remember when was the first time I came across this awesome thing called Skydiving but it has been on my bucket list for a long time. It’s just one of those things that is doable but I didn’t have the guts to go ahead and make the booking. So, this year when the chance came I took it.

It was supposed to be a gift, but things didn’t work out the way at all I planned. Morning of the jump, I woke up and was thinking about what I was going to do that day. It was going to be a dream come true. Something that I wanted to do for a long long time. something awesome. Something that everyone thinks is awesome. But then there was this emptiness and a feeling that it wasn’t going to be what I planned like it should be. It just wasn’t going to be. I knew it already. And I was in no way happy or excited about the jump. But then I kept thinking. This was something that was very important for my life, because it was the one thing that I am truly doing for myself. Something different than my work-kids life. For myself truly. To prove to me that I could do something different and awesome and feel something really really awesome. And that’s when I decided that I will just do this for myself that day. What was going to happen that day wouldn’t bother me. I needed this really.

Like I thought, it didn’t go at all the way I had hoped. It would have been so much disappointment if it wasn’t for my decision in the morning to do it for myself. Like I hoped, I tried not to let anything bother me. And I proudly accomplished my first skydiving jump.

Okay. Enough of the drama. I had to write all that despite not wanting to write all that because of my current state of mind. If my life was different now, my post would have actually started here. So, if you are still reading, thank you. 🙂

So, there is this place very near to where we live that offers the skydiving. Process is simple. This is tandem skydiving. That means I will jump attached to a experienced skydiving instructor. The training was really minimal. Honestly, the wait was the killing part of the jump. Getting into the suit felt so good already; I was getting little excited then. Later, I was actually getting worried because I wasn’t feeling anything scared at all. I was like why I am not getting scared. 🙂 I was worried a bit about throwing up or fainting on the jump. My blood pressure was little up probably. But that’s it. 🙂

Finally, the time came. My instructor asked me if I was okay to be the first one to jump off the plane. I didn’t plan for it, but it turned out to be one of the awesome things of the trip. Once we boarded the small plane, we would all be in seated position, position in which we would jump and I was like really really next to the door. Right next to the door. And you know that door wasn’t even closed until the plane took off. I was getting equally excited and tensed by the minute. But I look at my video and I was just smiling ear to ear. I guess I do that when I am both tensed and excited at the same time. There was a guy sitting in front of me, facing me, he was going to jump solo and he was looking at me all the time. He must have thought I was crazy. After a while, I was still smiling and he told me that I was going to do great and I look like I will have lots of fun. I think he was just being courteous but he was right. It was so much excitement.

view
Views from the plane

view2

So, in about five minutes (or longer, I can’t tell. I did feel like it took forever 🙂 ), plane door was opened again. And there it was. The open sky. Nothing to step on. Just open sky. It was a beautiful beautiful day, not a trace of cloud and so the views were amazing. Crystal clear. That moment I still wasn’t worried, but I totally forgot all the training I received. LOL. Well, that’s what the instructors are for right. Then, I was in position to jump, all tightly buckled up to the instructor and that one moment, we moved forward, we didn’t jump yet, my instructor was still sitting in the plane and we moved forward right, I was literally hanging from the plane. Not sitting, nothing under me. That hanging from the plane, I don’t know if it was intentional, but it was so awesome. That moment, I think I just realized that and before I could savor it any further, we jumped. That’s when it hit me. Oh. I am still smiling and laughing now when I think of that moment. It was amazing. Just amazing. The feeling that there is nothing under my feet, the rush of air, the scenery in front. More than all that, the rush, the jump. Oh, so amazing. SO AMAZING. I can’t explain it any further, except for including a zillion smileys here. 🙂 You hear the word free fall all the time, but only when you experience it, you will know what it means 🙂

The free fall lasts for seconds before the parachute opens again. That’s the few seconds of the jump. Rest of it all is all very controlled by the parachute. Once the chute opens, we stabilize and can control where we go, slow down, enjoy the scenery more and all. That few seconds of free fall, that feeling, is all, I needed. Ahh. I just can’t write anymore. I wish you all were there. 🙂

After that we moved back to the take off grounds and made landing over there. The parachute pull was so hard that once we landed, my instructor was asking me to stand up and I just fell down. I was so excited I couldn’t even keep myself in standing position. That was so awesome.

I got the jump recorded. I didn’t know that the air pressure would be so high that I wouldn’t actually be able to close my mouth. Or I was in total phase of excitement that I didn’t bother to close my mouth, I can’t tell. But my whole free fall video looks like I was am trying to eat all the air while I jump. Hahah .

Hanging. Can you tell?
Hanging. Can you tell?
Just Jumped. :)
Just Jumped. 🙂

select

11424446_10153517692583968_7788056603051673227_oOne of my two regrets for the day was not jumping with my friend V. He got me so excited about the trip, giving me tips from days before the jump. What to do, what not to do etc. I wish if he were there and we jumped together, we would have danced right after we landed. It would have been so much fun to celebrate the jump with someone, you know, not just clapping hands all by myself, like a little girl. Hahha. My second regret was not having my dad sending off and receiving me. This trip was a total surprise to my parents. My mom had no clue, I told my dad couple of days ago, but I was worried, he would see the disappointments that day and I didn’t include him in the trip. Had he been there sending me off to the plane and receiving me, his face expressions would have been so so so so so awesome. I got to see that excitement when I played the video for my parents. My mom was so bummed that I did it and my dad was, just like me, smiling ear to ear, so happy. So happy. 🙂

I promised him, I will do the jump again, when he is watching. My parents are so interesting. My mom wants me to never step on that skydiving place again. And my dad wants me to train to be a skydiving instructor. Made for each other, right? 🙂 🙂 Anyway, my dad’s face and excitement made it all better for that day and I lived on cloud nine for couple of hours. I deserved that.

The whole experience was just so amazing. I cant tell if it was the jump or being the first to jump or the free-fall. I cant decide what was more awesome. Just writing down the whole thing makes me feel awesome again. That’s proof enough that skydiving was awesome. If that still does not convince you, see how many times I used the word awesome in this post. That should do it 🙂

I still can’t believe that I finally did check an item off my bucket list of things to do. I can’t recollect much what else is on my list but to be able to do this and experience what I did just feels amazing. The phase of life now, is not very exciting and I kind of think that I have nothing else that I want to do anymore but I hope I am wrong. I have to think about it again when or if I feel better. There is the half-dome hiking dream. I hope that can be the next. 🙂

13 thoughts on “That Awesome Thing

  1. Love the excitement in this post. Could experience it from your writing and description of it all. That is enough for me though, have no intention of trying it. Even hearing about the hanging and freefall freaked me out:) But high five and hug for going through with it and a toast for many more adventures

Leave a Reply

