The One With A Margarita And Face Painting

Is it just me or does everyone feel like there is only one more month of livable weather left? True. Only one more month. After that its going to be back to cloudy days, non-stop rains and thick heavy jackets. Sigh. I am going to miss summer. So much. This summer was much better than the last one. Thanks to us, determined to make our summer days count (Hmm, although I should say we could have done a much better job too).

Anyway, kids start school the first day of September, I am trying not to think about it. It’s not a happy thought. God knows how that day or weeks after that will go. I will deal with it when the day comes.

So, back to our summer weekends, last week included a trip to the Zoo. Funny story, our first trip to the zoo was last year.That was the first time we transitioned Abhi and Achu to forward facing big convertible car seats and they enjoyed the ride very well. We went to the zoo on a very hot day. I remember Achu fell asleep in the stroller, Abhi cried for ice-cream later and by the time ice-cream arrived, he slept too. Achu kind of got lost for few seconds. It was my first time and it’s always a scary thought, even though you know she is probably right around that wall.

This time, I made sure to not do the trip on a hot day. It’s difficult to move around in that open place on a hot day. This day wasn’t too hot for us, but still was so for all the animals. We never saw the tiger, nor the lion. All that we saw of the hippo was its rear and top of the head. It stayed fully immersed in water, refusing to come out (can’t blame it. Poor thing). But we did some nice animals. By seeing, I mean, Abhi and Achu saw those animals while I watched their happy faces. That’s actually why I think I go to a zoo. 🙂

Oh! The highlight of our trip – face paints. Yep. Abhi and Achu’s first time, getting face-paints. The most awesome thing about getting face painted is Abhi and Achu sitting really really quietly, completely cooperating. I mean, how many times do you see kids, sitting that quietly, right? Well, for some thing like face painting, they would. Because that’s what they want, right? You should have seen them. Didn’t move a muscle. 🙂 After the painting was done, Abhi and Achu were handed mirrors. Abhi was so cute rolling his eyes to the right to see the painting on his cheek. Achu looked like she couldn’t believe she got one. Abhi got the spider and web. Achu got the gold fish.

Last year, we also saw the two elephants Chai and Bamboo. I mention that because, this year they are gone. Moved to a bigger and better place. And for some reason, Achu kept asking to see elephants and there were none in the zoo now.

Rest of the trip was very nice too. We did the photo booth family picture again. This time didn’t come out that well. Last year, Abhi was in panic mode. This year, he decided to cover others faces with his hands. So, there are four bodies and less number of heads in the picture.

One thing that makes this summer better than before is when I realize how grown-up Abhi and Achu are, compared to the last year. Currently, we are at the phase, where Achu is the brave one. She wants to go everywhere, try everything else. She did the same in zoo, as well and I let her roam the way she wanted. We were at this bald eagle exhibit and she asked the trainer lady what the name of the bird was. She even asked why the eagle was blind and etc. Feels good to see my little gal not show any inhibitions. Because until few months ago, she was. Which, by the way, Abhi is doing now. I don’t get too worried about it. They both have been alternating through phases, ever since they were born. I know Abhi will come around pretty soon.

Zoo is a special place for me, personally too. This was one of the places we visited, before I got married, with some of my best friends. We were here for work then, temporarily and we had such a blast on this trip. I remember these monkey bars, we took all our monkey pictures. Golden days of my life. Before we were heading home for that day, we played some game in the grass and on the way home, I realized I lost my gold chain. Another reason, I wont forget the zoo trip. 🙂

Oh wait, weekend update is not done yet. Remember, I mentioned Margarita. So, I want to declare it, here,  officially that my favorite drink is Margarita. Then beer and only then wine. Murali and I headed out to a nearby pub. Last time, I grabbed a Bloody Mary here. My first time and I did not like it. It was too strong for me. This time I ordered a Margarita and I loved it. Loved the whole outing too. The same day, I went and shopped for some summer dresses (Remember I mentioned, I cannot fit into any more of my last years dresses 😦 ). Murali and my parents along with kids went to temple and he asked me to be ready by the time they came back (So temple first and then a pub next, was the plan. Hihih.) So, I wore my new dress and was all ready. It felt so good to take some special me time and focus on getting ready. Otherwise, it’s all like, put on some clothes, stare at the mirror to make sure I am actually wearing one and then head out with crazy kids. 🙂 Anyway, it was a very fun outing. I came back home little dizzy, little drunk. I turn very childish and free when I am drunk. Thankfully its a happy phase for me. 🙂 I decided it was fun to scream in the car. For no reason. It was fun. 🙂

After our not-so good, birthday trip to the beach, I was kinda thinking that I would never head out the home with kids again. But, I changed my mind during this evening. It may have been the Margarita in me, we decided to accept that even if future outing with kids will be like what-happened on the beach trip (honestly, I can’t imagine why I was disappointed knowing it wouldn’t be perfect), we need to continue the trips. So, we shook hands on doing a week-long trip again during the Winter. Cabot or Cancun, it was going to be. Last week, I was thinking Hawaii. Today, I thought, forget about it. So, don’t know what will happen but at least the thought of being by the beach in Cancun was a really good one. 🙂

2 thoughts on “The One With A Margarita And Face Painting

  1. Aaahh! I’d give an arm and a leg for some beach time or a trip to any place beautiful for that matter. By the way it’s always fascinating how Americans love summer and how Indians dread it…i can’t wait for summer to end.

Leave a Reply

