First Snow At Home

So, I think I will just share the pictures of our first snow after we moved to our new home and not say anything. Honestly, I don’t need to. We have been waiting for our first snow and to see snow in our backyard from the time summer ended, that I think the pictures are just so beautiful. Of course, snow makes everything beautiful right.

This was also going to be Abhi and Achu’s first official snow. Last time it snowed back in February, we showed them a little peek of the snow from our patio and that is it. We didn’t dare take them out. However, Murali, P and I had fun making snow angels and with some snowball fights. πŸ™‚ Huh. Good days.

So, the thanksgiving weekend, snow was predicted. It was no surprise because it was getting freaky cold. Literally, freezing cold. So much that I had to start wearing shoes to work (I hate wearing shoes but I love bootsΒ πŸ˜‰ ). And so the waiting began. We constantly checked out to see if it was snowing. There was little hailstorm but no snow yet. All night, I kept checking for snow, gave up and went to bed.

Next day morning, Murali wakes up and voila! There it was. He wakes me up and we go check out our first snow at our home. πŸ™‚ And then a ton of pictures happened. I turned into blanket queen and dragged that blanket all around the home, checking out snow. At first, snow wasn’t sticking that much, but slowly it increased. In an hour or so there was snow all over. And the whole place turned into a small part of Narnia. I sat by the bedroom window and just watched it snow.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Next thing to do was of course, wait for Abhi and Achu to wake up. As usual Abhi woke up first and we took him to the bedroom window to show him the snow. He wasn’t as excited as I was, but he watched all the whiteness around, smiling. Achu woke up a bit later, saw the snow. She was okay then, but later, she told me, in her words, “It is all messy Amma. You should not touch the snow. You should not build a snowman”. I thought she was probably the only kid who says that.

Untitled

We had donuts for breakfast. well, I did, mostly. I blackmailed Abhi into eating, but Achu just plainly refused. She said, “Donut is all squishy”. Hmm. Look at this kid. She doesn’t like donuts. She doesn’t like snow. Who doesn’t like snow or donuts. πŸ™‚

Β A while later, we took the kids outside, for a short walk. I never feel comfortable getting such young kids out into snow. We dressed them up right for the weather, yet I wasn’t feeling good. Anyway, we took kids to our neighbors backyard, where the other kids were playing. We only stayed for couple of mins. Achu refused to move in snow. She stood by what she said about snow being messy to her. We took couple of pictures with snowman and walked back to our front yard to play a little. Achu, of course,Β Β said no throwing snow on her. Abhi and I threw snow at each other and had fun.

WP_20141129_066
Our home all snowed-up. πŸ™‚

We went back inside and lived in the winter wonderland for another week. While I took care of the kids, Murali clicked all these awesome pictures. Snow started melting a day later, but the backyard and rest of it stayed in snow longer because of the cold temperature. Murali stepped into the backyard and built this snowman. Did I mention he was wearing shorts then? I don’t understand him sometimes. πŸ™‚ Β On my awesome advice, he used almonds for eyes, mouthΒ and nose and guess what, a bunch of crows emptied the almonds few hours later. Our snowman of course didn’t say anything (because of no mouth, you know πŸ™‚ ), but for few days, Abhi and Achu remembered the story of how crows ate snowman. πŸ™‚

WP_20141130_005
Achu named our snowman, ‘Skeleton’. Hmm. πŸ™‚

Neighborhood was so beautiful too. Kids around slided a bit on our road. After it stopped snowing, sun was out and the place felt more shiny and beautiful. We are definitely waiting for next snow. This time I hope we will get to spend more fun time for Abhi and hope Achu will agree to touch the snow. πŸ™‚

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

12 thoughts on “First Snow At Home

Leave a Reply

