Take It Easy

You know, we see all these comedy TV shows where everyday life is so funny, right! Like there is this bunch of friends where one of the wives cheats on the guy and the whole group laughs and takes it in a funny funny way. Like there is another head of the family who loses his job, but everything is still going the same way. I mean they don’t behave like it’s the end of the world. They can still laugh about other things and go on with their normal lives. I see these shows and wonder why can’t we be like that in real life. I don’t mean that we laugh about everything, but you know, why can’t we laugh about most of the other things and move on. Be happy. Like when my code review goes awful, instead of cribbing about it and getting tensed, why can’t I share a laugh about it with someone? ( And then a bunch of people laugh in the background as it happens on the TV show). (Seriously I want to do this at least once, imagining all those laughs 🙂 )

Oh! Don’t start thinking now that I am going to go implement this in my life. Maybe I would try, but I would give up almost immediately. Well, because I live with someone who instead of taking serious things lightly, takes even light things seriously. So there is no chance or hope of my plans surviving that attitude. Few years ago, when we learnt that I didn’t get my work visa for that year, we were so devastated. Like life has really ended. Few days later, I talk to my best friend A and he says, ‘So, WHAT? You are newly married. Go enjoy your life for now’. After that phone call, I first realized that what he said was like a zillion% true and then I wondered when did I change to think like that. I don’t have to mention the reason but the last few years has been such thinking, unless I consciously bring myself back into the positive mode.

Okay. I am just blabbering now. The point of my post was what was good before. The incident below. It might sound silly to you, but its one of my memorable moments of what my parents taught me and what I want to teach Abhi and Achu.

So, when I was doing my bachelor’s degree, we lived in this place where they said, there were only two seasons in a year – Summer and Hot Summer. (This also happens to be the most awesome phase of my life when I spent lovely lovely time with Vaks 🙂 ). And the hot summer days meant plenty of ice cream. Those days, some famous ice cream company sold ice cream in paper boxes. Something of a brick shape. Box was just paper but what really mattered was the ice cream. Delicious as ever. And I got one of these for a special treat. This one was special because my dad didn’t buy it. I did; Out of my allowance. I think we got home late at night, my mom probably asked me to open it the next day and I agreed reluctantly. Next day, I went to college as usual. In the evening, I came home when my mom was talking about how our fridge has started to leak water again and how she had to cleanup a whole lot of mess in the morning that day. I discarded all that talk and went straight to the fridge to enjoy my ice cream treat that I was waiting for the whole day. And to find what? An empty and wet ice cream box. No ice cream in it what-so-ever. The whole freezer section was covered in water. I let out a shriek and my mom and dad came by to see what happened. We all stared at the empty ice-cream box, water in the freezer. Then was it that my mom and dad started laughing. Non-stop.

Guess what happened, the night before when we packed the ice-cream safely in the freezer and went to bed, we lost power. The whole night. And we just forgot all about the ice-cream melting in the fridge that was turned off and the hot-summer temperature. By morning, the box melted completely; Which is also the water my mom saw in the morning. No one had realized that until I opened the freezer in the evening. Ice-cream was all gone. The box was absolutely empty.

Once my parents solved the mystery, they explained it to me. Not that I couldn’t figure it out myself, but I hadn’t yet recovered from the shock of seeing my delicious treat all gone. The next few moments and even days were all laughter about what happened. About how we totally forgot about the ice cream when we lost power. About how shocked I was to see all the ice cream gone.  You know what the most important point was? I didn’t feel bad for a moment about missing my treat (which obviously was very important to me). I didn’t curse my fate. I didn’t regret the choices I made. All because I was directed towards laughing about the whole incident. Directed by my parents. What would have happened if they reacted bad? What if they didn’t laugh and took that thing seriously and started saying bad things. I would have done the same. They didn’t. So, I didn’t. Having ice-cream gone is not as serious as something that can happen in adult life, but remember, when we were young, these things were all that mattered? This was something that was serious to me, but still I had the fortune to take it lightly. Not just this. I am sure there are many more like this.

It’s been more than 10 years this incident happened, and I remember it so very often. Each time, I take something seriously. Each time, I see someone take even small things seriously. I wish I could somehow get this thing imprinted on our brain or something, that life is not to be taken seriously. Everything can be funny. At the least, most of it. No matter what, we can still laugh most of the days. And we should. Ahh. I can only dream and hope.

3 thoughts on “Take It Easy

Leave a Reply

