Little Good Things

When Abhi and Achu were sick last week, throughout the weekend, I didn’t freak out much. We took Achu to ER at 2 in the morning. She had such high temperature. I don’t think I ever felt a  105+F fever before. Sunday morning, we took them to the hospital. Since Achu had high fever, doctor wanted to do a urine test. Imagine urine test on a diaper baby. Sigh. They put in a catheter and it took few tries. Achu screamed and screamed.

Still, end of the day, I felt okay. I remember I cleaned up the house and the kitchen like I do normally. End of the day, I was also feeling normal (Of course, the real drama started on Monday). I was also very thankful to the little things happening around. I am very surprised at myself (and proud ) at how I behaved like these times were normal and noticed the little good things. What they said is true. Life is all about little good things.

♦ We started for ER when Achu had high fever. We gave her medicine and by the time we reached ER, her fever had come down. She was looking better, but her eyes. My God. I could tell she was sick, just by looking at her eyes. Achu was cranky at the hospital because she didn’t want to stay there. She said bye-bye to everybody and told me ‘go out’ a hundred times. When we were finally leaving, one of the physicians got Achu a little tiger cub teddy bear. It was so cute. Achu hugged it immediately. It felt good to see the kind gesture of a stranger to make a baby smile. (On as ide note, I hoped at least now Achu will cling on to this bear and forget her blanket – which are always a tripping hazard when walking. Achu hugged the bear couple of times and kicked it away later to go get her blanket 🙂 )

♦ Next day at the hospital, Achu was all cranky, sleepy and crying. Guess what Abhi was doing. He was all excited and happy about the new place he got to explore. Ran around. Gave Murali a good exercise. I looked and he was all smiles. He read a book with Murali, explored all cabinets. He even took a bit of paper, settled on the floor and tore it into tiny pieces. I felt so better looking at him play like that. How awesome is that. My one baby makes me smile when I am having a tough time with other baby crying. (Advantages of having twins#1024).

♦ Back from the tests, I was putting Achu to bed in our room when I heard Murali in the kitchen. I thought he was eating lunch. I just had some juice so I wasn’t expecting to eat anything yet. But to my pleasant surprise, instead of eating, Murali brings me lunch. 🙂 He has been doing it too many times now.

♦ I think this sick week is the time we watched most TV compared to all previous months. Both Abhi and Achu have been cranky and they didn’t even want to read books, so we switched TV on. We played Harry Potter and we all watched it. Abhi and Achu sitting on their Bear and Haathi set on the extra bed. We even watched curious George and Caillou. After she got better, Achu was still asking me, ‘Amma, play Caillou amma’. We told her no and looks she forgot all about it.

♦  One of the weekend evenings, I stepped into shower and realized I didn’t take head bath in a week. It happens to me a lot. In my world, taking long time to shower is a big deal and I got that on the weekend. 🙂

♦ Being sick was also the reason Abhi and Achu learnt the words medicine and thermometer. Even if they meant ‘No medicine’ and wanted to play with thermometer trying to scan their foreheads all the time.

♦ Weather has been good on and off, but lucky for us weekend weather was good. We stepped out for stroller walk in the evening. Instead of just walking, Murali took us to the nearby Starbucks and it was really a nice change sitting outside. Murali ordered us a Strawberry Smoothie and for the first time, Achu tasted the smoothie, told me it was ‘Strawbie’ and kept saying ‘Yummy. Yummy’. Abhi didn’t want anything with the smoothie.

♦  Second best thing that happened in the weekend was that we picked this bookshelf for Abhi and Achu. All the books in the shelf are Abhi, Achu’s. 🙂 And this also happens to be the first piece of furniture we bought for our new home. Bookshelf looks super cute.

♦ Oh. Wait for the first best thing. My latest addiction. Pinterest. God know why it took me so long to check it out. I am hooked. Through out the tiring days, not just the weekend, Browsing pins is all I do. My pin board is growing and I am mostly focused on home decor stuff. It sure is something I look forward to anytime.

 

6 thoughts on “Little Good Things

  1. I can imagine what Achu must have gone through.. with 105deg fever, I am still recoving from my 104deg fever. Poor thing.

    I am so glad, you are finding these little things to be happy about inspite of all that happening around you. Bug hugs to you Dil 🙂

Leave a Reply

