Good Things

Yesterday I had one long chat with Vaks. Despite the time difference between us, I talk to her multiple times in a day. In the morning and the evenings, Ihear back from her. Even during the day, I keep leaving her messages about anything under the sky. Given our busy lives, most of our chats are about getting ready to work, dinner, kids etc. Once in a while we get to sit and chat and chat and chat. Yesterday, we chatted about what’s bothering us so much in our lives. Each time I open up to her, talk to her about the things that bother me, I realize I don’t talk like this to anyone else. Not anymore. As I realized I wasn’t getting any response from the people I share any things to, I stopped telling them anything. I stopped talking to them about work, things with kids, personal etc. etc. I just deal with them on my own.ย Very few times, I tell V that I am in bad mood and he tells me a joke and I temporarily forget everything and laugh (I really have a hard time controlling my laugh when he is telling me jokes). This blog is another place I crib. That’s pretty much it. But, from the time I started talking to Vaks, I realized how good it is to how someone listen to you and comfort you. Even if we are not going to solve each others problems immediately, it means such relief when we tell each other we are going to get through this. We will be happy no matter what. Yesterday night, after the chat, I felt so depressed that I forced myself to sleep but when I woke up in the morning I realized what I at least have. HER.

No matter how comforting it is, I decided not to talk about my problems again with her. Even if it’s temporary, it’s kind of heart-breaking whenย I realize not having what I wanted is not normal. Reality bites and it’s tough. I would rather not go through that. Besides, when I think of Vaks, I just remember all the fun times. I want it to be that way.

***

This song by Mr. S.P.Balasubramaniam is one of my favorites. It’s in my top 10 list, definitely somewhere close to being No.1. It’s that song, no matter when it is on, I will take a break and just listen to his voice.

(I couldn’t find any audio link, so I had to do it this way. I can’t say anything about the video. I never watched it ๐Ÿ™‚ )

During playtime, yesterday evening, this song was playing. Abhi, Achu and I were playing busily, but, for some reason, once this song began, Abhi and Achu fell silent. In the mood I was in, I quickly took that opportunity to take a step back and listen to the song. For some time,ย I was lying down, Achuย lying next to me, Abhi standing but staying calm; I could tell he was listening to the song very keenly. Afterย the song was done, we resumed normally.

Later,ย after bath, I was trying to dress up Abhi and the only agenda on hisย mind was to run around naked.ย ย Singing to him some songs or telling him new/difficult words always catches his attention. Instead of my go-to song, I start singing, “Priyatama Na Hrudayama”. Both Abhi and Achu start listening. For some reason, I thought it wasn’t working and I changed to my usual song. Achu started objecting. “Piayatama..Piyatama”. She was asking for the song now. I was so pleasantly surprised. I started singing the song again.

“Priyatama Na Hrudayama”

Abhi sings, “Prema Ke”

Achu continues, “Patiroopama”

I get the happiest shock of my day. When did they learn to say these words? And they like the song I love the most? Yayyyy! ๐Ÿ™‚ Great songs are just like that, I guess. Anyone will like them.

Even in the morning today, Abhi and Achu are singing these lines. Even better, the word Pratiroopama goes like Pratiroooooopama in one tune. And Abhi is trying to sing like that. A million Yayys to all this.

***

This morning, Abhi and Achu received an email from my parents. This is what it says.

Hai Abhi & Achu,
Our Bank has cancelled the facility of foreign country visits during LFC.ย  Hence, Europe trip is cancelled.
We are coming to US, may be, around 11th August.

Bye
Yours,
PATI & TATA

Abhi and Achu don’t know about this yet. But you can guess how excited I am. Another million Yays. And just one more Yay to my dad for finally sending me a mail without caps ON. ๐Ÿ™‚

12 thoughts on “Good Things

  1. I am totally with you about having a good friend to chat. It makes a world of difference.

    I love that song too ๐Ÿ™‚ Hey, the next time I meet Abhi and Achu, I want to listen to them sing this song ๐Ÿ™‚

    That said, we should make plans to meet again.

  2. I am all in awww ๐Ÿ™‚ its always nice to have a ears to hear ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ i am happy you could pour things out to V ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I am going to hear this song now ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ these lil ppl have magnet in their heads eh!!! grasping things very shortly ๐Ÿ™‚ i am imagining the way you 3 singing around ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Totally agree with the talking bit.. it does help a lot to have a person who will jsut listen ..

    and I did listen to the song although i did not understand anything but the music was surly soothing ..

    Hope you are doing good now , Take care.

    and helloooooooooooooooooooo ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. The way kids pick up songs and the way they sing them out always makes me smile. Abhi and Achu are so precious ๐Ÿ™‚
    Yay! for grandparents visit. I am sure you all will have a great time ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

