She’s The Boss

It’s reading time. I say, ‘Okay, Lets read a book’. Achu runs to me first with a book. Which means, she will get to sit in my lap while Abhi sits next to me. It also means that we are reading ‘Baby Duck’ book. It’s her favorite. Achu settles down in my lap while Abhi was standing a few feet away doing something else. Before I could call Abhi, Achu begins – “Abhi… Come Here”. Abhi walks to us. “Sit here”, she continues, pointing to whatever space was left in my lap after she occupied it. Abhi didn’t decide to share my lap with her, so sat right next to him and we read the ‘Baby duck’ book in Achu’s style (as in, she decides when we flip a page or what we focus on)

***

Abhi and Achu’s new obsession –Β  Standing on the end table, pulling the light fixture next to it, examining the lights and then move to standing on the window. Achu is now standing on the table, while nanny is watching her. I just got back from work and I told her I would go change and come back in 2 minutes (The magical phrase. As far as kids know – we go to office or anywhere and come back in 2 minutes). But, I went near her, anyway. She sends me away. ‘Bye-Bye Bye-Bye’. Okay. That’s my clue. Change first. Same is applicable for removing my jacket before going to her. Jacket has to be removed and hung in the closet or I will never hear the end of ‘HUH’s from her. So, I go change and go to where she was still standing. Now, when I am standing next to her, it means at some point she has to get down. She didn’t want that. Looks at me and says, ‘Amma Two mitts. Bye-bye. Bye-Bye’. She actually sent me away.

***

Abhi and Achu are stacking blocks. I ask Abhi to stack blue blocks and he starts to stack blue blocks. I look at Achu, show her red blocks and ask her to stack those. ‘NO’, a response comesΒ from her. Pretty clearly. She picks up other type of blocks and stacks them.

***

Achu has my phone. She is flipping, playing songs, trying to increase the volume to infinity, playing video, changing profile photo, giving my phone a different and meaningless name each time; So many things. Abhi sits down next to her, brings his little finger to phone and just TRIES to touch it. “ABHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII… NOOOOOO TOUCHEYYYY”. Screaming.

While they are playing in the closet, Achu starts pulling out some clothes from the closet. Abhi comes in and starts doing the same. “ABHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII… NOOOOOO TOUCHEYYYY”.

Abhi grabs her blanket. Even if he intended to give that to her, in that one micro sec, she goes, “ABHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII… NOOOOOO TOUCHEYYYY”.

She may not be able to express it clearly. What she means is – I own everything in this house. I can do anything I want. But when Abhi tries to do it, it’s a big “ABHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII… NOOOOOO TOUCHEYYYY”.

***

Nanny or I are in the kitchen and we accidentally left a cupboard door open. “DOOR OPUN”, “DOOR OPUN”, “DOOR OPUN”, “DOOR OPUN”. Screaming in loop. Until one of us runs and closes the door. One time, I left the freezer door a little ajar, by mistake. I didn’t even realize it. But, nothing can escape fromΒ Achu. She could see that tiny thing too. “DOOR OPUN”, “DOOR OPUN”, she went. She stood next to the kitchen gate, kept screaming until I found which one she was talking about and closed it. When nanny’s kid is here, he usually forgets to close the bathroom door behind him. Guess, who comes to the rescue? πŸ™‚

***

Abhi is doing some funny walking and I am trying to record it on my phone. I keep talking to Abhi, when suddenly Achu opens a book next to me and finds a balloon. And of course I have to see it immediately. “AMMA.. BAOON”, “AMMA.. BAOON”, “AMMA.. BAOON”, she screams until I stopped whatever I was doingΒ  and gave her attention. So, I watch the video now and I see Abhi doing funny walk somewhere in the corner and Achu screaming “AMMA.. BAOON” in loop.

She will make sure she gets attentions. Always. πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “She’s The Boss

  1. Awesome! She’s so cool! And its amazing they pick up all these little quirks so early in life. Like the door open thing..So awesome to see them grow like this! I can imagine what a riot it must be at home! πŸ™‚

  2. lol I can see who is going to be a mischeivious person and who is a silent one πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ she talks a lot and too bossy on her brother πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ hope she remains the same and have fun πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ lil princess she is πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

