Tiger Mountain Hike

Finally, finally, finally I got a chance to hike again. It wasn’t easy to go hiking, given the weather and our schedules. It’s still pretty cold here and most of the hikes are either muddy or covered in snow. Since Abhi and Achu are nowhere near hiking with us, even on beginner trails and weekends is all we have for time off, we didn’t get a chance to hike in a long time. After Murali came back last week, we took two days off and since it was still a working week, nanny was home watching Abhi and Achu, while Murali and I headed to our first hike in ages.

We have been to Tiger mountain before. It’s neither an easy hike or nor a really tough one. Since I wasn’t working out at all except for the day-to-day activities, I wasn’t sure if I would be able to make it to the summit. But we decided to go with this one. I didn’t want to waste our one opportunity on a simple hike that wont be rewarding.

At about 11 AM Friday morning, we reached the trail point. We had to buy a discovery pass for accessing the trail. Thank God for smart phones. We bought the pass then and there. It’s a yearly pass so now we will forced to go hiking year-long 🙂 .  We were finally ready to hike. Oh. Wait. Murali had some business to attend to 🙂 . Okay. Now, we were ready.

Trail was pretty much the same as I remember from last time. It goes through thick woods; At some places, it even gets dark. Decent elevation. Trip to the summit is only 3 miles long, but its steep elevation from the starting point that makes it tough for beginners. We reach some 2500 feet elevation in these 3 miles up.

WP_20140228_013

First few steps were tough as expected. My back started hurting. Knees started hurting. I slowed down. I was wearing multiple layers of jackets that felt heavy. After a while I start feeling warm because of the walk, I started taking off the extra ones. At one point, I could just walk with my top without feeling any cold. Felt amazing.

After I got used to the walk, it was no tough. We just had to take breaks and keep going. Murali and I were talking so much. Murali told me the stories of three movies he watched recently. He has never done that before and I don’t know why he was doing it now 🙂 . I was just listening and asking for clarifications (What else could I do? It’s a movie story 🙂 ). Then we talked about everything that we had to do. Mainly kids, jobs and home. I don’t think we talked that much in recent times. We were having such continuous conversation that I am sort of going to remember this hike for our talk as much as for the hike experience itself. (If you are a typical wife like me whose husband’s face is always hidden behind his smart phone, you will know what I mean 🙂 )

There was some snow on the top when we were reaching the summit. We could also see some sun light again. It couldn’t have been a better day to hike, given the season. It was sunny and pretty awesome. Not too cold either. Views from near the summit and the summit itself were beautiful. We could see the snow mountains from the summit. Tiger mountain summit doesn’t have any open views like others we have hiked before. But it was still pretty, thanks to the weather. Once we reached the top, we got a chance to relax. We packed a sandwich snack. We ate that.  I laid down on Murali’s leg and looked at the sky. It was really a very nice day.

WP_20140228_037

WP_20140228_025

It took us an hour or so to reach the top and Murali wanted to go back down soon. Guess why? Because all the buffet places close by 3 pm. Sigh! How can a person think about a good hike and a buffet lunch like that? 😀 So, we started coming down the trail. Unfortunately, by the time we got back to our place, restaurants were closed. But we found some place and had good food.

All in all, it was such a perfect day to hike. I am so happy about buying the yearly pass, gives me hope that we will go hike more. I don’t think its a bad idea to take some time off a Friday every month to go hike. Right? I do need to find more hiking buddies. Do this or not, I do hope we will go more hiking. This is one thing I absolutely want Abhi and Achu to do as well (when they are ready), so I want us to continue hiking. Just another reason to stay on the trail.

18 thoughts on “Tiger Mountain Hike

  1. I just feel you and M ji’s post rather than the lil ones 🙂 the post shows a full of you only 🙂 I am happy to read a post of yours without a involvement of kids with a fun 🙂 🙂 I suggest you take such a hike often to enjoy these moments and have fun. happy you took the steps for the hike!!! I wish i could join 😀 😀

    1. I hope you get to too Comfy. Weather should be getting better.

      Me too. 🙂 I cant get enough of Buzz and Bugs stories anyway. So, you would be telling me more and more stories about them on the hike 🙂

  2. Absolutely terrific. I want to go back to hiking too. This is when I miss the good old Bay Area. I need to look up some options around Mumbai now. You just inspired me 🙂

    1. We miss bay area too Pepper. That was one time we could go hiking on any weekend. Atleast, most of them. I know how you feel.

      That would be lovely to find these around Mumbai. I am sure it will be fun 🙂

  3. Wow! This sounds so much fun. I am glad you could go on this hike 🙂 And I know exactly about the husband doing all the talking.. feels strange yet, very nice 😀

  4. wow.. the last pic is so beautiful. Good that you finally got some break Dil 🙂
    I was reading some of your older posts today. Looked like you used to hike a lot earlier. I love hiking too and copying what littlefingers said – wish you were in my city.

Leave a Reply

