Parents Day Out

On the day Abhi and Achu turned 18 months old, we had a morning appointment for them. The day before that, at work, I got a last-minute meeting conflict to demo some thing I have been working on. I couldn’t move the meeting so I had to skip it, since there was no one else to take Abhi and Achu to their appointment. I felt pretty bad for not having a backup and I ended up getting pissed (again) at Murali for not being here when we need him. Long story short, I was so mad that I let others demo my work despite Murali coming here and both of us took the day off 🙂 (If you know Murali, you wont believe me when I said he took a day off). We took kids to their doctor’s appointment and were back home by lunch time.

The only time I love to take sometime off from normal routine and go do something fun for ourselves is on weekdays. Since nanny is already taking care of kids, I wont worry about them. But with Murali visiting us only on the weekends, it almost got so impossible to do something. Our weekends are completely booked and anything we want to do takes a lot of effort to get done with kids around. It’s not like I don’t want to go out with kids. But with Abhi and Achu around, they are my priority. I can’t take them anywhere and everywhere. I can’t do shopping etc. Anyway, just for one day that day, Murali and I took a day off and it was worth it. I felt like I was getting ready after a long time. I wore my red pants and leather boots, for the first time (I really really hate wearing shoes but I loved these boots) (and not that anyone specifically complimented me on those, but thats a different story, right 🙂 ).

For lunch, we headed to one of our favourite Thai food places called Thaiger Room. It’s in UW school district where Murali went to school. Its such delicious food. Even thought we are vegetarians and we ordered all vegetarian food, I am pretty sure its got something else mixed up in it, because vegetarian cant taste that good 🙂 .

So, when we sat down to order food and were scanning the menu,

Me (looking at the menu): Ooo. Lets order Corn Patties. I think we ordered this last time also, They were yummy.

Murali (so excitedly) : Yeah, Yeah. We had this last time.

I was thinking, see he remembers about some appetizer we ate some 6 months ago. What about other important dates? So, I decided to test him.

Me: Okay, when is our wedding anniversary?

Him (Immediately and grinning) : February 8th.

Hmm that was a quick answer, but a wrong one. 🙂 I asked again.

Him : February 6th.

Hmm. Wrong again 🙂 . Finally, he said 7th. He said he was tricking me while he remembered the date all the time. Ofcourse, we will never know that for sure 🙂 .

Anyway, food was delicious. We had corn patties, Drunken noodles (extra yummyyy) and some fried rice. Yummy. Yummy. Yummy. I can’t say yummy enough :). I wish we could go back and eat again real soon.

It was a beautiful day outside; That would mean it was sunny and cold :). We could spot Mt.Rainier on our way back.

WP_20140124_007

We had to meet some one that afternoon, so our initial plan was to do that and go watch ‘American Hustle’ movie, but the meeting had to be postponed so we missed our movie chance 😦 . So, we went shopping instead. I bought my first pair of skinny jeans. Shopped around a bit more for other things, but didn’t buy any.

In the mall, Murali and I walked hand in hand and I couldn’t remember when was the last time we had that time for ourselves. Life is so busy and occupied with other things that we don’t even realize what we are missing. Every time I keep asking Murali to take a day off so that we can spend some time like this and each time, he rejects it. And I keep, shamelessly, asking him over and over again, because I have no other choice. Any way, I think my highlight of the day was Murali saying that it finally feels like a relaxed day out. I felt the same too. I can’t wait for another one like this 🙂 .

13 thoughts on “Parents Day Out

  1. Soul sister !! We are sailing in same boat. You will be amazed I wrote something very similar post today. I can totally understand all that emotions you are going through. I wish you many more outing with Murali 🙂

  2. Lol@Veg food cant taste that good! 😀
    Happy 18th month birthday and also, advance happy anniversary! 🙂
    Here’s to many more tasty veg-non-veg romantic dinners, many more skinny jeans and many many more of holding hands! 🙂

  3. which means you guys gonna get your anniversary on in three more days as per indian calendar 😀 😀 😀 that’s something cool 🙂 🙂 c’mmon make a wish and the next treat is way too close 😀 😀 being a week end it gonna be double damakka ?? won’t it be 🙂 🙂 Happy that you guys had a very much your time 🙂 🙂 time will heal and many opportunity will come close!! relax till then 🙂

  4. hehe.. even I feel veg food can’t taste that good everytime we go to have Thai. 🙂 wow that shot with Mt.Rainier is so beautiful. 🙂 🙂 You guys should take days off and do this more often.

Leave a Reply

