Little Things – V

Of all the things Abhi and Achu do, most funniest are the ones we haven’t really taught them to do. Its like, they just mock us or do something on their own. When we are least expecting that reaction, that moment turns so funny. πŸ™‚

* Sometime back Abhi and Achu were little afraid of cooker whistle. When the sound starts coming, they look a little tense and scared. So each time we have the cooker on, I tell them in advance that they are going to hear the whistle. We even count the whistles (also reminds me of how many :)) with me showing my fingers saying two whistles..etc.. The more they heard the words ‘Cooker whistle number 2’, they got used to the words, knew what was comingΒ and became less scared. One day, whistle sound starts to come out, Abhi and Achu stand near the kitchen gate, showing me their three fingers. :). Sometimes they count all the whistles with me. But, its always whistle number 3 for them. πŸ™‚ I am waiting for the time when one of them will tell me, ‘Amma. Its already 5 whistles. Turn it off now’. πŸ™‚Β Btw, they are not scared of whistle sound now at all.

* While I step away from the living room to get something done in other rooms (Even though Abhi and Achu can see kitchen and patio from the living room, doors to all bedrooms and bathroom are always locked or blocked with gate), I tell them I will be back in two minutes (showing my two fingers again). Abhi and Achu don’t always accept, but, mostly they are fine. I think they now know, one will come back if they said that. One day I am stepping into the bathroom, Achu is walking by me and even before I say anything, she shows me her three fingers. πŸ™‚ See, my baby is even giving me an extra minute to be by myself. πŸ™‚

* Earlier, something that used to catch Abhi and Achu’s attention very well was mocking them; Me showing them what they used to do,

‘How does Achu cry?’ – ‘Waaa Waaa’…(More like fake sobbing :))

‘How does Abhi cry?’ – Tightens his lips, makes a pout and cries silently

‘How does Achu eat?’ – Makes a vomiting face. (When Achu was tiny, even before I put food in her mouth, she would pretend to throw up)

‘How does Abhi eat?’ – Shuts lips tight, No way those lips are opening anytime soon. πŸ™‚

They used to observe all my expressions very attentively. The day before, I repeated the series again and this time Abhi learnt to do this all by himself. Ask him, ‘how Achu cries’, he will make a silly crying face. Same thing for ‘How Abhi cries’. According to him, ‘Achu cries’ face stays crying a little longer than ‘Abhi cries’ face. He thinks like that. I am not saying anything. πŸ™‚

* The other day we were in the bedroom. Because we don’t usually allow them to play in there, this bedroom is like their Disney land. They get so excited. Achu sleeps here everyday and yet she is excited if she is allowed to play in this room. Anyway, we have a tower fan and a tall night lamp in the room, sometime back we probably told them ‘No touchey’, so when they walk into the room, Achu points to the lamp and the fan, waves her index fingers from both her hands and says ‘Nononono’. πŸ™‚ Like, she is telling me I am not allowed to touch them.:) (Β ‘Okay Achu. I no touchey’. πŸ™‚ )Abhi, on the other hand, does nonono the same way as Achu does and touches things anyway. πŸ™‚ That nonono is only for my satisfaction, it looks like.

* One of Abhi’s favorite birds is Parrot. that’s because each time we see the Parrot flash card or the picture in the book, I pretend to close my nose with my fingers and talkΒ  like parrot (or at least, Abhi, Achu and I think I sound like parrot. :)). Abhi is a super big fan of me talking like this. The other day, he sees the parrot flash card, immediately puts his fingers on nose and starts talking like parrot too. He kept saying his favorite words, ‘Buthabey, Buthabey’. He also said Abhi in a parrots voice. P and I were watching and laughing so much that we forgot to record it on video. Since then, I have requested him so many times to do that again. No luck, so far.

* I have no idea where kids learn things like these. πŸ™‚ Try to take something away from Achu, she will scoot back, as far she could go, trying to get away from you. If someone said anything to Abhi or Achu that upset them, they go to other adults in the house, clearly complaining on the person who said something. πŸ™‚

* This might look like the simplest thing, but who taught Abhi and Achu to use normal phone? The minute they see a phone (any fake, real, mobile), they put it to their ears. Achu even goes babbling ‘huh, huh’. Apparently for Abhi, reception is much better when he puts his phone way behind, on his back. πŸ™‚

*Β Achu is super big fan of my smart phone. It will keep her entertained and occupied for a while. But since I try to limit everything (if she uses it as much as she wants, she is going to get bored soon and wont like it anymore. Keeping it restricted makes it more fun for her because she will think its something precious :)), she doesn’t get it always. But as long as she has it, she doesn’t care for anything else. One morning, she was cranky (and I was sleepy), so I turned on Kids Corner on my phone andΒ played some songs. Achu loves to swipe the screen and change what’s playing. I was silently watching her when she is laying down next to me using the phone. Suddenly she switches to home screen, starts ‘Baby Toy’ app. Phone pops up a message, ‘Music is already playing. Do you want to pause the music?’. Achu presses ‘Cancel’. (exactly on that touch point. No where else. My first pleasant shock :)). She can now listen to the songs and yet play in the app. She then touches on some ad on the app. Phone says, ‘You cant do this in kids corner’ with everything else disabled but a close button. Achu presses exactly on ‘Close’ again. I had no clue when she learnt that. πŸ™‚ After that I have seen her change the name, picture, colors on the customize screen many times. Sometimes all that she want to do is change settings in customize area, not the toy app or music. I, initially, named their kids corner Abhi and Achu, but now Achu changed it to this, ‘vbikkujggrtttb’. πŸ™‚ Is she saying she wants to change her name to this?

4 thoughts on “Little Things – V

  1. I am out of words!!! they are growing too fast and I want this time to stop and admire more of their activities πŸ™‚ Achu is a big gadget freak now πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I could imagine the lil finger touching the cancel buttons! its worth a record in this small age πŸ™‚ and I am trying to sound the name that she has created!

Leave a Reply

