P’s Birthday

Last weekend was such a busy and eventful weekend for us. We celebrated Halloween on Saturday and Deepavali on Sunday. Today is P’s birthday. Since Murali wont be here, we surprised P with a cake and gifts on Sunday. First, Saturday night, she took us out for dinner. I have been planning for her gifts for a while. When we went shopping in Hyderabad, there was this chudidar she liked so much. It was a bit on the expensive side, but we bargained and finally got it. From the moment I saw it, I knew it was going to be P’s birthday gift. She liked it so much, and yet, she was buying it for me. :). I didn’t tell her anything about my little secret and I kept that dress all the time in my closet. After we came here, she asked me why I wasn’t wearing that dress for some festival. I wasn’t expecting her to see it there and ask me that question, so I quickly made up a story and told her something. Saturday afternoon, Murali and I went little shopping and bought more gifts. I love having many little surprises as birthday gifts, so I wanted to surprise P the same way. In addition to the dress, we got her a gift card, one hooded sweatshirt and a pair of gloves. That night, after everyone slept, I quietly wrapped all the gifts individually and I felt I had less number of gifts, I just wanted to give more. The same day, I bought a turtleneck sweater for myself. P actually saw me wearing it that evening, but I packed it in the gifts as well. P is a big big fan of this hero of some Hindi serial. I asked Murali to get a printout of this picture. Murali got that and a beautiful cake.

Image

Sunday evening, after giving Abhi and Achu dinner, we lighted deepalu around the house, and surprised her. We made her sit on the couch. Abhi and Achu were all curious about what was happening. We got the cake out. P was very surprised. She took Abhi to sit in her lap and cut her cake. She also gave the cake’s first piece to Abhi. I told her, Abhi is the closest person to her in the house and that is true. 🙂 Later, I made Abhi give her the dress first, all neatly wrapped. Next Achu gave her the purple sweatshirt. Abhi gave her the white sweater again. Achu followed it up again with the gift card. And finally I gave her the smallest gift of all, the gloves. 🙂 Murali was recording the videos singing Happy Birthday each time P opened a gift. 🙂 Later Murali took out the printout of her favorite hero, Achu and I gave it to her and she was laughing so much so surprised. 🙂

She looked soooo happy really. :). I was very happy I got to celebrate her birthday this way. She deserves it. When we working together in Hyderabad, I always made her birthdays extra special. One year, I said I was going to start celebrating her birthday one week before the day; The whole week, everyday I wished her on Orkut (popular then), people would see the message and wish her too… I did this the whole week. And guess what was the side-effect of wishing her everyday for a week before the birthday, the day of her actual birthday, I forgot to wish her. 🙂 LOL. She called me sometime in the afternoon and asked why I haven’t wished her yet. I made up some other story again (I am good at this.:)). But she caught me later when I was confessing to another friend, again over orkut. 🙂 P and I still laugh so bad over this incident.

Since yesterday was already Nov 5th in India, I treated her extra special yesterday too. She offered to clean dishes and I said no because it was her birthday in India. A little after mid-night, our time, I went in to her room and wished her. I also made sleeping Abhi shake her hand and wish her. This morning, Abhi and Achu shook her hands again while I sang happy birthday to her. 🙂

Today, she wore the dress I gave her on Sunday. Celebration continue. I am also pinging all our friends here and reminding them its her birthday. Ofcourse, even otherwise, her phone wont stop ringing. 🙂 She has so many friends. This afternoon, I am taking her out for lunch. I am still thinking about what to do this evening. This weekend I am taking her out for her first pedicure here. She will be surprised again. She wont know it until we get down at the spa. 🙂

*****

Note to self: what’s that heavy heart today for? Why are those tears ready to come out? Remembering how your birthday, this year went? I know; If last years was sad, this years was depressing, But you made it through. You were very proud of yourself you got out of it without anyone’s help. Stay busy at work and listen to ton of music like always. You will get over it.

*****

P just pinged and said this is a birthday she wont ever forget. 🙂 🙂 🙂

8 thoughts on “P’s Birthday

  1. Awww such a big surprise 🙂 🙂 and i am close to tears DIL on your gesture to make P happy and make this memorable one!! I guess she will be always in a confused state to which one to keep close to heart 🙂 🙂 tap tap on your shoulders 🙂 🙂 🙂 You guys rock together!!! Life simple things makes a very big happiness isn’t 🙂 🙂 Happy birthday P 🙂 🙂 lol on the orkut thing:) it happens you know! 🙂 )

  2. that was so sweet of you and Murali. P must have loved the cake and all the gifts. Abhi and Achu gave her the gifts.. that would have doubled her joy. That was a lovely surprise Dil. Belated birthday wishes to P. May you guys have many such fun moments 🙂 you used to wish for an entire week on Orkut and forget on the day..hehe 😀

Leave a Reply

