Play Time

When I was pregnant I read a lot of twin baby blogs. I remember how these posts all talked about twin babies playing or communicating with each other etc. It was really so adorable to read those stories. And ever since Abhi and Achu started recognizing us, I have been so waiting for them to talk or play with each other. But, so far, nothing. All that they have been doing is mini-fights with each other. Like they always want the same toy. Achu doesn’t like it when I hold Abhi. She is super possessive. Abhi cries at the lightest touch of Achu. It’s like he literally comes to us crying and complaining on her :). Most of the time we have them playing next to each other, we spend time on making them understand that they need to share things, that they need to wait etc. They both have different interests, they both are reaching their milestones at a different pace, so it was like they were going pretty much in different directions.

I wasnt sure why Abhi and Achu weren’t like the twins I used to read about. Maybe its becauseΒ they are not of same gender like the twins I read about. So, I gave up pretty much expecting to see such moments with Abhi and Achu. Suddenly, in the last two or three weeks there is this change in them; I think, they have now started to realize that they can play with each other, not just separately with the toys. Peekaboo is the most favourite game in our house. For Abhi and Achu, that is. When I was in Hyderabad, I got most of my work done playing peekaboo with them. I would be gone for few minutes into the dining room, prepare their food, come back every few seconds, say peekaboo and get my work done. Abhi and Achu used to so patiently wait for me until I jumped and popped my head into the living room and shouted peekaboo. And that’s what the game they played first with each other. Well, there is not exactly shouting peekaboo or hiding from each other, but it looked close to that. So, Abhi would be near the bedroom door, Achu a little far away, where they can’t see each other, near the couch. First, Abhi would wait for Achu to come, she would come crawling or walking to him. Little smiles exchange between the two and then Achu goes back to her position. This time Abhi goes to Achu and the game continues. They really didn’t do this way the first time. It took couple of turns of doing something different or nothing before they figured out this game. πŸ™‚

Around the same time, they started smiling, handing things over to each other etc. Ofcourse, fighting for the same toy or taking things away from each other hasn’t stopped yet (and I don’t think it will, ever), but, at least once in a while, they share or wait for the toy to be shared. This evening, they came up with a new game to play with each other. We have this kitchen set toy, that has an oven; The door closes, it makes sounds like its cooking. Another side of this kitchen set is like a refrigerator door, so when the fridge door opens, the tray in it is actually the oven on the other side.

So, Abhi decided to cook one of this little plastic square pieces from the shape sorting game. πŸ™‚ He opens the oven door, shoves it in, closes the door. Achu, takes the square out from the other side of the fridge. Meanwhile, Abhi opens the oven again and is wondering where did the square go and Achu hands it over to him. πŸ™‚ This went on for a while. They followed the same routine. Whenever I see them playing with each other like this, I try not to interfere. Sometimes I do tell them what they can do (like they understand me :)), sometimes they follow or do their own thing. I, mostly, settle down with my camera trying to record the moments.

But, each time, it’s just so great to see them try to interact with each other. You know, they do and will spend more time with each other than they will with anyone else for the next few years. More than how much time I spend with each of them. I know their feelings for each other are not going to change anytime soon, they are too little to understand that. They might not be the most attached siblings, but I do hope they will be best friends all their lives. πŸ™‚

And when exactly, I was getting sentimental like this, I had to step into the kitchen to do some cleaning. Abhi and Achu didn’t like that. Now-a-days when I am in kitchen, they try to stand near the gate screaming at why I am not in the living room next to them. Even if I don’t play with them, Achu just wants me in the same room. Abhi is okay sometimes. So, today, I resorted to our favorite peekaboo game again. Abhi and Achu are getting smarter these days. They figured out that when I do play in the kitchen, I can come from the other side (our kitchen has double entry) and say peekaboo. So, they kept observing in both the directions to see where I will come from. πŸ™‚

Later, they let me be in the kitchen and started doing their own things. I wish I took a picture I could post here, but when I looked up they were sitting so close to each other playing with different toys. That’s the closest I have seen them sit. Usually, that kind of thing would have made Achu pull something off Abhi and Abhi starting to complain or cry. I don’t know why different today, but they were silent and in their own worlds, yet so close to each other. Maybe things have started to change. Touch wood. πŸ™‚

15 thoughts on “Play Time

  1. Such a sweet post πŸ™‚ It’s always wonderful reading about your little ones πŸ™‚ .. Will pray they stay like this forever and you’d be a proud mother always πŸ™‚

  2. Are they identical πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ you are right, the sink with opposite sex twins will be lil less but trust me, you can see the tom and jerry comedy right in front of your eyes in life πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I love the kitchen toy set game πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ imagine the astonishment of the goods at oven get escapade gives me a fun laughter πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ peekaboo is the bestest game to keep them occupied πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ try the statue and release game, it will make you have some more fun πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  3. That is so adorble ! My cousin has twin boys and they are totally different. They obviously look different, they have different eye colours ! And they have completely opposite personalities – one of them is outgoing, would play with everyone but the other one is really shy. So, I guess everyone is different and after a while they realize they have a brother to just play with πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  4. they are so cute.. I really want to meet the two kiddos sometime.. πŸ™‚ probably like you said, since they are of different gender, they took some time to understand that they can play together.. I am sure as they grow up, they will end up enjoying each other’s company more.. they will end up becoming best friends..

Leave a Reply

