P And I ….

♣♣♣♣♣

I am trying to feed Abhi and Achu dinner. As usual P and I are singing meaningless songs and tunes to make them open their mouths (keeping the mouth open and not making them spit food out are other challenges and we deal with it differently. :)). So, ABCD song comes back into the singing list. Not the “Next time will you sing with me?” one, but the  ABCD song from “Hum Saath Saath Hain”. That’s Abhi and Achu’s favourite. Suddenly I realized what about Telugu alphabets? Of course, we have some too. And out of so much love for my native language :P, I started singing ” Aa-Amma, Aaaa–Avu, etc etc”. P joined and started singing the same. Guess what, 5 alphabets into it, we forgot what comes next. We were going back and forth on trying to remember which alphabet comes next and whats the first word that starts with that one we learnt ages ago. I think we managed to remember 3 more and had to give up.Hmm, its time to brush up on the skills we mastered once. We have to teach Abhi and Achu, right? (who, btw, were rejoicing that no one was torturing them to eat more food)

♣♣♣♣♣

Few days back, P was sitting silent.

I : What happened?

P : I feel homesick.

I : (Trying to cheer her up – she loves shopping). Okay, Do you want to go shopping?

P : No

I : (Thinking..she is really upset). I will take you to kohls. Buy anything you want.

P : No

I : What about online shopping? You said, you wanted to buy some pajamas. Go ahead, here is my laptop.

P : No

I : You want a gift card, so that you can shop later.

P : No

(I think, later she slept and was better)

So, forward to yesterday night.

P : I need to buy some pajamas.

I : No

P : Why not? You approved them last time (She spends a lot of money on shopping and I am controlling her spending)

I : That’s when you were upset. I gave you a chance and you didn’t use it.

P : I will tell you when I am upset again.

I : Okay.

(Some 40 seconds later)

P : I feel homesick.

♣♣♣♣♣

Like I mentioned before, Abhi and P are roommates. I put Abhi’s crib in P’s room. Achu is with me. I keep shuttling between the two rooms when putting AA to bed.

Some night in the last week, Abhi wakes up multiple times. 1 AM, 2 AM, 3:30 AM..Each time I go to him, sing him a lullaby and put him to bed. Next day morning, P comes into the living room with Abhi and says last night she slept very well. We both have horrible sleep patterns, so we don’t have many nights we sleep well. I was surprised, obviously and asked her ‘How come?’. She replies, “Well, all those lullabies you sang yesterday night. They were very good. Put me straight to sleep and kept me from waking up”.

♣♣♣♣♣

After Abhi and Achu sleep, P and I find something to watch on Netflix. She doesn’t watch serials like Grey’s Anatomy etc with me. And since I was starting Season 9, I thought I would give her some background story so that she wont look that lost. So, I started telling her what the characters are, what happened so far etc. Five minutes of telling her about who was engaged to who, who broke up with who, who cheated on who, who slept with who and who tortured who, I wasn’t sure why I was watching that serial. P gave me quite a few disgusting looks when I was telling her and I decided she is not ready for Grey’s anatomy yet.

♣♣♣♣♣

P and I, go home yesterday night. As soon as I go in, I ask the nanny, “What, kids have diaper rash now?”.

Nanny says, “yeah. It started today”.

P looks me at and says “Wow..You are one amazing mom. How did you just feel that they have got diaper rash?”

I – “No. Diaper rash cream is on the counter top.”

P –  😐

6 thoughts on “P And I ….

  1. 🙂 hehe now that you say, even I dont remember alphabets from Indian languages properly. I think it is time for you to brush up everything 🙂
    you can read these entries after few years and have a good laugh 🙂

  2. He he 🙂 now I am loving the time you have with P 🙂 🙂 🙂 write some more 🙂 🙂 🙂 And how about chitti chillakamma 🙂 🙂 thats one of Mikku and mine favorite rhyme now 🙂 🙂 🙂 though its Telugu and we are Kannada people, we find more attraction to Telugu song 🙂 and alphabet song, we started practicing 🙂 🙂 : )

      1. That is some less rhyming!!! more like a school rhymes, they can easily find the difference between the rhymes and alphabets I think 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

