Mommy’s Day Out

So, finally, finally, finally I stepped out for some 7 hours and had a super fun day shopping. Courtesy my friend P. I realized until I stepped out of the house, I wasn’t going to get anything done and I had lot of shopping left to do for Abhi, Achu and myself for the upcoming events and etc. So I just told everyone at home (I gave them 3 weeks notice) that I will be gone on Sunday, most of the day, shopping with P. Thankfully no one said no. Well, it was the first time in about 2 months, so I deserved it. Dad will be home on Sunday, plus my aunt is also here, so that will be 3 people to manage Abhi and Achu, so I knew they would be fine.

From the minute I planned the day, I was so excited about stepping out with P. I was so eagerly waiting for the day. So, on Sunday, I bathed Abhi and Achu, fed and put them down for their nap (it was 11 already) and I stepped out allllll by myself. Lalalala. Lalala. Lalalalal πŸ™‚ (AKA no diaper bags to pack; no food to prepare; no schedules to worry about).

Shopping with P is so much fun. That’s because, I don’t have to do anything. Basically, she will pick the dresses (We wanted to buy some party wear dresses for myself and some ethnic wear for Abhi and Achu.), I have to try it out and she will say yes/no. That’s it. We are done. I don’t have to worry if the dress fits me well, if the color suits me blah blah blah. Just wear it and get it. Awesome! Isn’t it? πŸ™‚ P always shopped for me. Anything she cant wear is automatically qualified for me, because she at least wants to see me wear it. :). She also knows what I have. Some time during that day, we bought one dress and she said, wear that nail polish I gave you with this dress. πŸ™‚ Seriously, she is like, that good. Anyway, by the time we started shopping, only few shops were open. There was one shop that was newly opened that day, and what other good place to start my long pending shopping. P picked two (out of some 100 salesperson showed her) and asked me to try them. There comes my only problem. I am super scared of changing/trying a dress in the shops. I mean, you never know these days, its crazy, right! I refused but eventually lost to P :(. I tried both, they were looking okay to me, but P wasn’t satisfied. So the new shop didn’t get lucky that day. 2 more stores and some 10 more trials later, finally we bought one. It was 2 already, and we bought one. That’s no surprise right! Because us ladies are very particular about what we want. :). Anyway, I declared lunch break (I was tired of all the trials you know).

If you are in Hyderabad, you know about Paradise and its most awesome, tasty Dum Biryani(I can already feel Murali’s mouth watering while reading this..Hahah..I ate it first..he still has to wait..Lalalalalal). That place is so crowded even with 4 or so floors, you know. When we stepped in, there were people sitting in some common space; Like at a wedding, where everybody is sitting in rows. I asked P, if there was some private function going on. She laughed and said, that’s people waiting for a table in the restaurant. πŸ™‚ With that much crowd, I thought, we were going to be stuck for a long time waiting for a table. But lucky us, for two people it just took 15 minutes. We ordered quickly too and spent some 2 hrs eating food. Not that we ate that much, but we were mostly talking and talking. They had to replace the Naan twice because it was getting stale sitting on the table. πŸ™‚ I always had fun lunch breaks when P and I were colleagues (seriously, with our gang, it was like sometimes I fell out of my chair laughing. I always finished my food late, so everyone used to wait for me. We chatted, laughed, fought over silly things and what not. Ahh! Good times…). That’s what P and I talked the most during the lunch too. We love going back to those days and reminiscing each and every little incident. That was some super happy 2 hours.

After lunch, we went back to General bazaar. Roamed few more shops, but P didn’t like anything. We had also planned to go to another part of the city to shop there. ( πŸ™‚ You know we do justice to shops in all areas), so we were almost leaving when P saw this dress on a mannequin and said lets buy it. Luckily, the shop didn’t have a trail room, so I was spared from trails. We bought it there.(I didn’t know if it would fit nice, but it fit perfectly.) and headed to another store. Now, this was a fancy store, where I mostly get the same ones I saw in General Bazaar but, you know, presented better at a more expensive price. The week before, I picked a dress at this store, but I wasn’t sure if I wanted to buy as it looked expensive (to me). So, I went back with P. I didn’t have the dress saved or anything so I just gave the salesmen the color, type etc. They looked for about 15 minutes and guess what, they couldn’t find it. 😦 If I was there by myself, I would have given up and left the shop, but not P. She went to the racks herself and asked the salesmen to show her every blue and pink color dress she can find. Poor guys, they didn’t have any option. After some 10 times, I said ‘P, Its okay. Lets go.’ and she said, ‘Lets go look in another section’. Hahah. When it comes to clothing, P will never give up. :D. And she was so right. Ultimately, she found it :). P liked the dress too, so the shopping section was done for that day. It was already 6 by the time we left the store. Its been such a long time (may be years) that I spent some time with her and I knew, once we go back home, it might take few more weeks to meet again. So, I dragged her to the nearby ice cream store. We sat down for about an hour with some ice cream (I don’t even remember what we ate), just talking and talking. So much fun.

More than the shopping or any other thing we did that day, we talked so much that day, remembering the good old days, almost every event, every person from those days. Sometimes its just enough when we think about good times, we start feeling good. Isn’t it? In fact, when Murali and I were in California, P visited us once, and that Saturday we three spent together was one of my memorable days. I wish I was blogging then. I would have remembered the day in more details. πŸ™‚ The super duper awesome thing is that P is going to be in Seattle very soon. She will be staying with us. Its going to be so much fun. I am super excited to have her around. All in all, I had such fun day. When we came home, Abhi was all smiles looking at me. He did surely miss me. πŸ™‚ Achu was like, ‘You were not supposed to leave home’. Hahha..

There was some movie on TV that day, that I wanted to watch from a long time. But by the time, I settled Abhi and Achu into their beds, guess what, movie was over. Hmm. I was back to my normal routine. πŸ™‚

18 thoughts on “Mommy’s Day Out

  1. Wow..wo..wow!! that sounds like a ‘Day to Remember’ for so many wonderful reasons πŸ™‚
    I am so glad you could get a break from playing Mommy…I wish I too get a similar break someday *Sigh*

    1. It was ME. I hope you will have that day really really soon. Do write about it. πŸ™‚ I was a little hesitant on leaving them alone, but I just had to do it. Yes, schedules were very upset for the time I was gone, but it was worth it…

  2. That’s lovely Dil πŸ™‚ I am glad that you took a day off from your routine and spent awesome time with your friend πŸ™‚ While I was reading, I felt as though I was there with you and P… I had also made wonderful friends in my office and I was so much fun to hang out with them πŸ™‚ And, guess what I and S are also big fans of Biryani.. would like to come to hyderabad sometime just for biryani πŸ˜‰ hehe πŸ™‚

  3. Sounds like a perfect girls out day and you deserve it more than anytime. I am glad you got some time off from your routine …now when can we see those items you bought?

    Abhi and Achu managed without you? They are sweethearts πŸ™‚

  4. It is so much fun right, meeting old friends.. your account reminded of my shopping days with my close friend S. We used to have so much fun shopping together and just talking πŸ™‚ Good to know that you had a break after such a long time.

Leave a Reply

