Feeding Fun

* Abhi’s morning routine includes little crying to be fed and then vomiting it out minutes later. Sigh! What a start to mom’s day.

* I wasn’t keen on letting Abhi and Achu hold their bottles when they drink milk because I always feared they wouldn’t finish their bottles (and Abhi, Achu not eating makes me go crazy), but I am going little easy on their eating habits these days, so I let them hold their bottles. Surprisingly, both Abhi and Achu became good at it from the first time I let them.

* For some reason, when Achu holds her bottle on her own, she thinks its like eating with a spoon. So, she sucks on the nipple for a second, takes it out, chews for a while and then puts the bottle back in. πŸ™‚ Do you know how long will it take for her to finish the bottle this way? πŸ™‚

* Thanks to encouragement from my aunt, I started feeding Abhi and Achu at the same time. Earlier, I fed them one after the other, depending on who was hungry first. So far, this arrangement has worked out well. I feed them from the same bowl and so far I am able to tell if one of them is not eating well (Its Achu. It’s always Achu….hmm…at least for now).

* Abhi and Achu do an excellent job pushing the spoon away when they don’t want to eat. (read most of the time). Achu stops and holds the spoon so tight that I need help to make her release the spoon. But it really helps when Achu’s hands are full of food that she is eating. She spends some time observing it and mommy can get at least little Β food inside her. Sometimes, she starts chewing even before I put food in her mouth. πŸ™‚

*Β Abhi and Achu both love water. Sometimes I can’t get any sort of food inside them, their lips are sealed so tight, but as soon as they see the water cup, they open their mouth. So I tricked them into thinking that I was giving them water and fed them food. Two days later, they started checking what exactly is in the spoon and started closing their lips again. πŸ™‚

* Because Abhi cant crawl away from me yet, I place him next to me and I make Achu sit in the car seat. Just yesterday, Achu figured out how to get out of the car seat, so feeding her is going to get tougher. 😦

* Rule: The food bowl and the water cup (including the spoons) have to be exactly Abhi’s hand distance away from him. Otherwise, food bowl is emptied on me and water cup on himself.

* I make a ton of funny faces and voices to feed Achu. She needs to be entertained a lot. With Abhi, if he wants to eat he will. But if decides he doesn’t want it, there is no way I can feed him.

* I hate it very much, but TV is always on when Abhi and Achu are eating. I get tired doing tricks and advertisements are really a big help in making Abhi and Achu open their mouth.

* One spoon of food expected to go into Achu’s mouth = 20% on bib + 20% on her hands Β + 20% on the car seat + 20% on me + 20% back to spoon.

12 thoughts on “Feeding Fun

  1. There is so little we can do to get them to open their mouths when feeding. Sigh!! I know this does not help, but when I was in India, it was always harder to get the kids to eat. Everybody has an idea on how to feed them and it just does not work,

    When you get back here, get them both into high chairs and let them feed themselves if they want to. Trust me they will do a good job that way. You can feed them in between but eventually they will learn to eat when they are hungry. (When I did this, initially even my mom was saying my kid needs to be fed at 1 yr and he cannot eat etc etc…. when she later saw how he was able to eat by himself at 1.5 years, she was impressed).

    One caution: Try to put the high chairs in the kitchen or place a big plastic sheet under the chairs so that cleaning is easy πŸ™‚

    1. You are so right. I insist that Achu be fed in car seat because I want her to get used to sitting in one place and eating. I like your idea of letting them feed themselves. I give it a try.And yes that plastic sheet is compuslory..hahah

  2. I hear you, not that I am feeding one but then my SIL has a tough time feeding her son. She dances, makes funny faces and what not.. Hope they get used to feeding routine soon.. Hugs πŸ™‚

  3. I am laughing so badly πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ they are the cutest one on the world to me πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I love the way the achu eats!!! 20% category is super cute πŸ™‚ and advertisement saves a lot of mommy!!!! damn true!!!! he he he but this water bowl turn to food and they in turn cornering you is really superb πŸ™‚ have fun dear πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I wish I sit near to three of you and laugh!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I simply love you guys πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      1. I would simply love to do that,provide I may end up eating their food by going crazy:-)kisses to the kids;-) i am moved by the love from them:-):-):-)

Leave a Reply

