One Dinner

Murali and I met in the August of 2007. 6 days later we got engaged. And exactly 6 months later we got married. Six years later we became parents. No, this post is not about the significance of number six in our lives, but just that sixth wedding anniversary of ours was yesterday. And in a household where babies get all the prominence , anniversary is no different. So instead of getting each other anything, we turned the day into another special day for the twins and bought them gifts. πŸ™‚

Being a work day, we didn’t get to do anything exciting. And with a ton of workload, I was not in mood for taking the day off. We originally planned to head to Palm Springs for a short vacation for the anniversary, but that didnt happen.

So, heading out to a restaurant was the only thing we could do. And we did just that. In twin parents world, it’s a big deal, you know. Because, taking two 6-month olds to a restaurant where the babies might behave any way is not easy. Of course, I said no at first with a ton of questions; What if they both cry at the same time, what if we had to wait, what if someone drops something hot on them? What if they poop? Etc. Etc.Β Murali, somehow,Β convinced me that we could go late in the evening so that Abhi and Achu will be almost asleep and they might just continue to sleep. I also finally realized that I can’t wait for eternity without exposing Abhi and Achu to restaurants (we have got too much take outs), so I said yes.

Initially Achu was crying, soon she calmed down in the car and by the time we reached restaurant, both were asleep. While at the restaurant, we got the table quickly. I wanted to keep the babies in the stroller and close to the table, so that we don’t disturb them, but despite getting a corner table,Β we were told stroller wouldnt fit easily. So we ditched the stroller and carried the car seats to the table with Abhi and Achu sound asleep. Hmm.. So far so good.

WP_20130207_049

We scanned the menu quickly and ordered food even before the waiter could introduce himself. πŸ™‚ Looked like the waiter got the idea that we were in a hurry (or may beΒ just that it was almost closing time, even they wanted to rush). Appetizers arrived quickly. Murali was in a mood to quickly eat and get out too, but I made him put the spring roll back in to the plate so that I could at least take a picture. Meanwhile, he came up with a joke that we should call these winter rolls. πŸ™‚ Yeah.. This is where he expects us to laugh out loud πŸ˜€

WP_20130207_050

And when we were enjoying the crunchy spring winter rolls, came two sounds from within the closed canopies. Hmm. What was that? Could that be sounds of two babies waking up? Yep. Indeed. If you get a chance, please do think about, how exactly do babies know that the car they are in is not moving anymore? And what makes them wake up from that pleasant sleep? Is it that they don’t want to miss the hustle around? Is it that they smell the new food? or do they want to check out the restaurant so that they can write a review or they own? Why? May be, it’s that they think they have an awesome chance of showing how loud they can cry and shout, because Abhi and Achu did just that.

And guess who panicked when both Abhi and Achu started crying. Not me. πŸ™‚ Murali was looking at me with a clueless face (Back at home, when I was hesitant on whether to go or not, he actually told me and I quote – ‘I will take care of everything’). Anyway, Twin-Working-Awesome ma of the year came to the rescue. πŸ™‚ I took Abhi (coz, he was crying the loudest.). Achu was just in a playful crying mood (she means, if you get me out of this car seat and its straps, I may think about not making a scene. πŸ™‚ ). We did get her out of the car seat, she blessed us with wonderful smiles and got busy with waving toys Murali gave her.

Meanwhile, sounding star of the restaurant, Abhi was getting louder. After a walk within the restaurant, a bottle of milk, showing him two light bulbs, a fleet of passing by cars and many many other things Abhi decided to calm a bit. Our food has arrived too, so I started eating a bite or two holding Abhi. Finally, Abhi calmed down. Later, he laughed too. Yeah…who knew couple of Damaal..Dimeel..Dum Dum Dum..sounds would make a baby laugh (Courtesy – dad).

Food for everyone
Food for everyone

P.F.Changs was one of Murali’sΒ and my favourite one’s. But slowly the love is fading away just like the quality ofΒ food. It didn’t take me longer to call my dinner done. Soon, Murali was done too. Abhi and Achu went back to their car seats and slept in the car again.

After I came home,I realized how much I have changed. I didn’t complain for a second on being not able to eat like a normal restaurant eating (without having to worry about babies). I think this came to me slowly because the last time we went to eat out I panicked a lot (despite having my parents with me). This time, I was actually very happy that things could have gone more wrong and they didn’t.

***

Note to Abhi and Achu: Did you just read what you both did your parents anniversary? When you grow up, you better make it up to us by throwing us a lavish party or maybe send us on a cruise. Thats okay too.

Note to Abhi: Abhi, You cry/shriek every time we try to get you to drink your milk. But you want to taste coke. Seriously.

Note to Dad : Achu loves to wave her hands and touch everything. Next time, please keep the spicy green beans plate away from her.

13 thoughts on “One Dinner

  1. lol πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ congrats on sixth πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ hugs and drum rolls for the celebrations πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Abhi garu πŸ™‚ grow up fastly and read this πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ you will smile and blush and don no which one you will prefer first and your sister on the other side will pull your legs eh!!!!!

    PS to dad was awesome :p

    on the whole you made my tummy to cry 😦 I am feeling hungry right now 😑
    food looks yummmmmmm….. lol on the winter roll πŸ˜€ perfect Lip tight joke πŸ˜€

      1. thank you πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ lol πŸ™‚ will invite for my wedding πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ eat till your tummy burst πŸ˜€ thank you :)that’s long back πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ no recent photos πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

          1. my pleasure πŸ™‚ will sit one to my side and other to groom side and will give fruits πŸ™‚ chamathu baby’s will play silently πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. Hey congratulations on the anniversary, lots of best wishes to you and Murali.

    And loved the restaurant trip, I could imagine the chaos πŸ˜› but isn’t it an achievement, I’m glad to know you all went out, I’m sure Abhi and Achu must have loved it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

