Abhi and Achu Explained …

I wish I can capture every move of Abhi and Achu; The way I see them from my eyes. Smiles, cries, sleepy eyes..everything. We do take a lot of pictures and videos, but I don’t think I can ever capture the way I see them or the way I feel when I see them. Especially those little things, that change every week or even every day…

♥ Achu’s war with the blankets has temporarily taken a pause. Until last week, she kicked her blanket away, each time. The minute I put the blanket on her..she kicks it away… now, it’s a different game. Now that Achu is discovering different uses of her hands, she pulls the blanket on to her face with both her hands, so close that entire blanket is on her. When she is asleep we have to keep checking on her to make sure she can breathe. She keeps twisting the blanket in every way. I think she wants to hold something all the time. I need to get her a doll.

♥ While Achu is keeping her hands busy holding objects, Abhi is putting his hands to use by stuffing them in his mouth all the time. So much that sometimes he chokes. And I have been trying very hard to make him forget this habit. Each time I stop him from licking his hands, he puts them promptly back in. Never gives up. That’s a good habit, I guess. 🙂

♥ Achu’s discovering of putting her hands to use is very amusing to all of us. Whenever we take her close to anything, she stares at it so keenly, sees if she can touch it. We extend her hand and help her touch whatever she wants to. Now a days, she extends the hand herself and pushes her toy away or touches that “Welcome..Little One” poster we have. Last week, Achu and I spent 10 minutes playing a little game, I put her toy before her, she pushes it away, I put it back..game continues 🙂

♥ Abhi and Achu have started to recognize each other, just a bit though. I think, Achu does it more than Abhi. Whenever they are put next to each other, they stare at each other. Maybe they see the one next to him/her as just another toy. Abhi keeps on pulling Achu’s hair when he can or licks her hand. Achu quietly tolerates it. 🙂

♥ Little smiles are now turning into laughs. A sound or expression they hear or see suddenly sometimes brings out a cry, sometimes a laugh.

♥ Achu now insists that she hold her milk bottle. Unfortunately these trials happen when she is also hungry, which means she gets frustrated about not getting milk.

♥ Having twins means we need to keep track of their feedings, nap times and poop schedules. And to make things fun for us, we give Abhi and Achu a star (*) each time they poop. 🙂 Yesterday, after Abhi got a *, mom asked him – “Abhi, did everything go well?”. Abhi smiled and said – ” ooh “. 🙂

♥ Abhi and Achu continue to set new personal records in their nap time every day. Yesterday, Abhi slept for 19 minutes in one stretch, his longest nap during the day.

♥ One thing I adored and Achu doesn’t do any more is she putting both her closed fists next to her cheek when drinking milk. It was so cute. Abhi did it for a while too. But not anymore. What to do, kids do grow up.Huh!!!

♥ Although Abhi started to roll over first, for some reason he is taking a break and Achu is trying very hard now. First she tried with holding on to the blanket under her or our hand and try to pull herself to the side. Looks like, she realized that’s not the right way. So, now,she puts pressure on her right foot, pushes it hard and tries to turn to the left side. Its very interesting to see how she is trying different things to see which works. 🙂

♥ Abhi is getting so better at responding to us. Among many words he utters, ‘boo’ is his favorite. Now-a-days ‘ooh’ too. Abhi and I play the ooh game, where we say ooh one after the other. These days I have to give up because he wont. 🙂

♥ Achu very cutely makes many different sounds. I wish I could record them all. But by the time I go get a camera, she is doing something else.

♥  A favorite pass time for Murali and me during the nights is watching Abhi sleep. It feels so good that even the short time we get to spend when twins are asleep, we spend it on them.

8 thoughts on “Abhi and Achu Explained …

Leave a Reply

