Pav Ke Liye…

Aargh..I was so close in setting my own record of time I have gone without cooking. Guess where I tripped…almost 11 months. Just few more days and it would have been a real celebration event. Okay. Even if not for setting a record, I would have had fun not cooking..coz I just hate cooking. So, how did I survive without cooking for a year, you ask? Two people…One who has no choice but to cook (coz I wont)..Murali. Second, mom – who doesnt give other people a chance to cook.

December last year, after I got pregnant, I got super nauseous at the smell of cooking tadka, capsicum, rice, masala etc. Mainly things that fall under the category, food. After continuously throwing up, I declared I dont want to be anywhere near the kitchen. Lucky me, Murali took the responsibility of cooking (and cleaning). I was nowhere near complaining because a. I don’t have to cook. b. Murali is a better cook than I am. c. I have nothing to do with the kitchen. d. I don’t have to go into the kitchen. I enjoyed the luxury of food being prepared and multiple boxes ready for me to be taken to work. He even invented his own recipes. The famous Chana masala – Murali style. My colleague is a huge fan of this dish when Murali makes it. She kept on asking me for the recipe. I have never shared it with her because I had no idea myself. Few months into this routine, I did think that rate at which I was gaining weight was directly proportional to the amount of weight Murali was losing. Of course, I was too happy to complain about this because I love the not-cooking-me no mater what πŸ™‚ . This went on for about 8 months until my mom and dad joined us. And by that time Murali got tired of cooking. Murali was happier than I was when my mom took control of the kitchen. I am not kidding. πŸ™‚Β And I had to break all of this why…Pav Ke liye.

Some time last week, mom mentioned that there was a packet of ready-made pav bhaji masala and ordered me to somehow use it soon. I told her somehow meant me preparing pav bhaji and guess what, that was not happening. Poor Murali stepped in again and we decided we will get some pav and he will prepare Pav Bhaji…and ofcouse, I will eat it. So I go get Pav, come home and realize that the version of masala at home is not something we always made. This was a new brand and we had no idea how it got in there. Lucky Murali this time, the great Pav Bhaji preparation plan was cancelled. Fast forward to this week, mom’s now ordered me to somehow use the Pav. Sigh. So, now Murali gets the masala (the right one), checks the Pav at home and tells me the Pav I got is not the right one either (my first aargh moment). Now he goes and gets the Pav. Okay, now we have all the right ingredients and then the wrong things happened. And I dont know how. I just found myself in the kitchen making the snack. 30 mins later, I was serving every one. 😦 😦 😦

See, its such a sad story. Isnt it? I mean seriously who asks a women to cook these days?

Anyhoo, here is what was served. Now, common people. I want to hear some claps for this modern-day women who survived close to a year with the joy of no-cooking.

12 thoughts on “Pav Ke Liye…

  1. ha ha πŸ™‚ its a super time πŸ™‚ when u r Pregnant they wont allow you to work and make you to sit all time by taking rest πŸ™‚ you may get extra time after baby comes too πŸ˜€

      1. ha ha πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ attention will be there but in different manner, say when your lil do any naughty work, I am sure you will be getting lot more attention πŸ˜€

  2. Lol on the everything under food category. πŸ™‚

    And it is indeed sad that a record could not be achieved, hehe, anyway 11 months is cool enough.

    That Pav bhaji looks yumm and what about the secret Channa masala recipe. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

