Snow Lake

“What’s after hiking Mount Si?” Murali and me were wondering the same, but I was surprised to find out that some of the friends who follow my updates on Facebook were also thinking the same. Frankly, now it’s kind of getting tough on expectations with my hiking updates. I should either stop hiking or stop updating. Ofcourse we chose the second option. But just one last time. Because ‘Snow Lake’ deserves it all.

We changed our hiking goal this time; Instead of hiking to a summit, this time we wanted to try something else. Like, hiking into meadows. Especially now that summer is kinda over here, this might be our last chance to see some wildflowers.  A friend suggested Snow Lake. Images on the web were breathtaking. It was not too far from our place and it seemed a perfect destination.

And it was definitely. Snow Lake is about an hour drive from our place. It is in Snoqualmie pass which is usually covered in snow except when its peak summer.  The parking place where we started our hike is actually a ski resort. Come winter, this place would be covered in snow and bustling with skiers. ( I would surely go back to this place in winter, definitely to compare the pictures with now).

Although this time of the year there were only small patches of snow here and there, the place was still breath-taking.  From the parking lot, we hiked about an hour up the mountain. There were not as many wildflowers as I was expecting, but whatever we could see was very very beautiful. Snow lake is on the back side of this mountain; Between couple of mountains. It’s decently big. Water is so serene. Plus the day we hiked was cloudy and it made the place look even more serene. 

To do justice to the beauty of this place and hike , I went to the trouble of installing Flickr plugins for word press, only to find out an easy solution. So please click on the above picture and enjoy the Snow Lake. 🙂

I am not sure if the trail would be open in winter. But I hope we can get back to this place to catch it in its original form. It would be worth the snowshoeing effort.

I am too sleepy to write any thing else about the place so I will leave you with the pictures. They tell a better story. Of course, tomorrow Murali is going to be very pissed off that I neither wrote about the mosquitoes all the way during the hike nor about how many of them bit him. Hey…there you go..I said it. 🙂

21 thoughts on “Snow Lake

      1. Ha ha 😀 😀 We should pay back the mosquitoes in the same coin. You’ve coined some term. Murali would be happy to read this 😀 Totally worth all the bites.

  1. No please, don’t stop hiking or updating. I’m actually making a list of places to visit if I ever get there. My friend had done his internship last year at MS, Redmond and he had brought pictures of Snoqualmie Falls. Those were awesome. The picture above is breathtaking. So serene! It should be framed and hung on the wall 😀 Thank you for uploading pics on Flickr. I saved the ones I liked most (I hope you won’t mind) but all of them were awesome. Great shots! 🙂

    1. okay Sure I wont. But remember you asked for it. 🙂

      Internship here would be really cool. Snoqualmie falls is only one of the beautiful places. You should visit this place once.

      You saved the pics? Didnt you know its $50 a piece? 😀

      1. ha ha. Okay, I saved 5 pics, so now I owe you 250 dollars! 😀 but hey it’s a bit expensive 😀 I want discount 😀

  2. Welcome Avada. 🙂 This place is about an hour away from Seattle. This place also falls under the snoqualmie national forest (Probably 20 mnts away from the falls).

  3. I said it before and i am saying it again, you are very lucky to live amidst these breath taking locales 😀 😀
    Wow! even the thought of landing at these gorgeous locales every weekend made me feel recharged after a hectic week, I can’t even imagine what would happen to me if I actually lived at your place :D:D 😀
    Forget any bugs and mosquitoes for though we don’t have those here, but we don’t have these awesome locales either 😦 😦

    1. Thats what makes me feel sad. Lotta people who live here dont appreciate the beauty of the place. I mean if you say Washington is a beautiful place, they agree. But have they ever stepped out of the house to go explore the beauty? No. 😦

Leave a Reply

