The long due long weekend….

My first long weekend. The weekend that I was so desperately waiting for. Just one extra day of holiday and my mind thinks it’s the end of all the work headaches. Even after knowing that it’s not true and I would have to go back to the headaches very soon. Well, never mind, any extra time away from the soul sucking job must be cherished. And so I waited for the weekend to come and its finally here.

Like any other time, before the weekend strikes, you want to do a lot and lot of things. In my case, I didn’t want to go anywhere, I didn’t want to travel to any travel destination and do any sight-seeing. All that I wanted this time is to relax, stay close to home, yet step out, but just relax.  Knowing that weather this weekend (in fact, any weekend) is not going to be favorable, my intention to stay home didn’t seem wrong.

More than the Saturday or Sunday, the best time of the weekend for me is Friday evening. Ahh, the feeling that I am out of work, and the next two days , I get to do the things I want to and don’t have to worry much is a bless. So was yesterday. Oh btw, did I mention that I have been jogging these days? For the last 4 evenings, we have been happily escaping to Sammamish River Trail and jogging. Not sure, if you ever heard about this problem, but I suffer from an irritating and terrible ‘Restless Leg Syndrome’ that makes my every night miserable. That something had me assumed that running is not my thing, not for this life at least. But surprisingly I proved it wrong. Jogging is fun and is very much the exercise I need. And the river trail is a jogger’s paradise. Although it’s been pouring since last weekend and the rain is not showing any signs of reducing. But yay…we have been so happy that we were able to beat the rain. 

And so started the weekend, with a good hour-long  jogging. I wished I could capture some pictures from our walk, just for you guys to look at. The evening was beautiful. It just stopped raining, the surroundings soothing and everything awesome green. And after I came home, I did something that I have missed so much that I even forgot what I was missing. Listening to music; When all those of my favorite songs were playing loud, singing along and playing solitaire (like a newbie)..was so much fun. That was the moment I told myself, yayyyy, my relaxing weekend is finally here.

But for my husband (hence forth referred to as Murali, because that’s his name 🙂 ), the idea of holiday is different. For him, any holiday is a day, where we both don’t have to go to offices, but are out of the house.  Just driving, walking,shopping or hiking, anything, just about anything, outside house. And I don’t have to tell you how disappointed he was to see that its raining a lot and he can’t get out of the house even today. Well, I am not sure what I am going to do about him in the winters, Hmm… May be I will worry about it later (BTW, any ideas are welcome..).

If rain can be depressing, only one thing helps. Not having a depressing mood. And it also helps, if at least one person in the house has the open mind to realize so and talk to others. Hm..Hell with all the talks…my advise…you can skip all these lectures and change his mood by cooking his favorites. 🙂 Yeah, that works. It did in my case. Well, you see, today especially, it was very important to change his mood to happy because I had to go shopping. And no body wants to go do some shopping with a moody company. Never.

Anyways, everything worked in my favor, when I was able to buy the cookware set I have looked for from a long time and also a pair of sandals (Totally unrelated to each other…). And there is no way, Dil can sit idle with a nice looking cooking set. Its time to use it. And that’s what I did…Opened cupboards to see what I can cook and yippe..found a RasMalai mix. And I am happy to tell you that, unlike in other cases, this mix did really turn into a RasMalai (Fyi….If you havent heard back from me tomorrow, it means that the mix has expired).

Oh, the other best thing of the day was the trip to my favorite place..The Libraryyyyy. The idea was to get dvds to watch, as many as I can, given the rainy days. And now I have with me a bunch of hindi dvds to watch. I was really looking forward to watching a nice comedy and guess what, the hindi comedies these days, suck big time. Thats when we decided to switch to ‘Deewar’. Yep, you read it right, ‘Deewar’. And a follow-up conversation…

Murali: “Mera paas gaadi hain, building hai, car hain….Tumhare paas kya hain?”

Me: “Mere pass naya cookware set hain..”

Murali: “Aha, Mera pass uska bill hain….”

I know, he is just jealous…You guys never feel good about your new shaving sets..Do you? You just don’t know how to cherish things in life. 🙂 . Or in other words, you should learn from me (or my blog).

And so should the weather here, very very moody. I just heard that its going to rain tomorrow, the day after and even the coming week. 😦 . Lets see what we get to do tomorrow. I am so looking forward to having a small picnic in any park, just crashing on a blanket and do some reading. Please, weather, please…Give us a break…

2 thoughts on “The long due long weekend….

    1. oh it did. Big time….Anyways, we sneaked out when it stopped raining for few minutes and found other ways to pass time..

Leave a Reply

