Finding Little Swami

As legend always said, nothing that exists out of the cyber world is easily findable. You are running late and you cant find the keys. You are waiting at the ATM and you cant find your card. And for the millionth time in your life, you wish you had Ctrl F every where. Well, that’s one side of the story. In my case, what I was looking for existing very much in the cyber world and yet, thanks to the family drama, I had enough trouble finding what I was looking for. Here is the story…

As it happens with every phone call,

Loads of <Not needed, Junk, What the hell, Are you kidding?, Why are we talking this?, Who cares?, Why Why Why> talks.

And then comes the actual stuff…

Mom: So, little swami is quite busy these days. The school is wrapping up the year and exams and annual day celebrations etc etc.. He is very busy.
Me: Aha..So how were the celebrations?

Mom: Pretty good, I heard. He performed a western dance and his photo is in daily newspaper.
Me: What? WHAT? WHAT? HIS PHOTO IS IN NEWSPAPER? What? News Paper?

Mom: Yeah. It is. They published the school celebrations pictures and his picture is in it.
Me: What? WHAT? WHAT? News Paper? NEWS PAPER? It is such a big thing and you are telling me after talking about nithyananda scandal and other junk? What? What? What?

Mom: Umm….Aaaa…Uhuuuu..Ummm…yeaaaa….Ummmm…
Me: Okay..Okay..Which news paper?

Mom: Xxxxx. It was published in the district edition
Me: What district they are in?

Mom: I think its Guntur..
Me: Okay..

Before I could say anything else, the until-then-silent-and-now-hurt husband’s voice sounded in the room.Hurt because we committed a unpardonable mistake…….getting our General Knowledge wrong.

Him: It’s not Guntur District…(throwing cold how-come-you-dont-even-know-this looks at me)
Me: Umm….Aaaa…Uhuuuu..Ummm…yeaaaa….Ummmm…

Him: Its Krishna district.
Me: (I literally had to throw back you-know-this-only-because-its-a-part-of-your-name looks at him just to make him stop.)

Me: Mom, Its Krishna district. How come you dont know that? Huh?
Mom: Hmm…………

Me: Anyways, When was this?
Mom I think it was last Friday.

Me: Are you sure?
Mom: Yes, Yes, very sure.

Me: Okay..I will check theee…
Mom: Orrr..let me confirm the date and call you back..
Me: What? You just said you are sure…Hmmmmm….

The so-sure Mom called back twice to tell me that it was actually Sunday’s news paper. She almost seemed like she called even the newspaper’s editor to confirm. Naturally, the easiest step would have been to check the news paper print itself, but the adoring grand-mom wanted to save only her grandson’s picture and nothing else.

Anyways, now where the hell was this newspaper. Open Firefox..and damn..Firefox wont load Telugu font. Install/fix/repair/restart..and finally the font loads.

By the time the Vista restarted, I almost forgot what I was looking for. A little retrospection and I proceeded to looking up the website for finding an online edition. It seemed almost magical that my eyes saw the word archives first on the website. Thats it…just one more step away….Click the archives, select the date and boom..you get the picture..Or you would think so..World is not that fair my friends…

What you see upon clicking those links is just two words that will make you go crazy, especially if you were in the restless mood I was in. As if it was going to help, the Archives page flashed the words in green..Login Required…

Damn it…The primary reason I stopped looking at most of the websites is because of these login required signs. I hate them like spam. But this time, the ball is not in my court. My heart almost cried, when I was entering one of the less used (already dedicated to spam) email address, double checking to see I havent selected ‘Send me offers’, ‘Send me news’, ‘Send me promotions’. Oh my god, internet really sucks.

Check..Check..Check…Check with all the excitement and energy. Double check, Triple check, wake up the sleeping dragon and ask him to check (as if the sleepy eyes were going to find something that mine couldnt. sigh…)..Nope its not in here. Then, as if my cribbing had already reached India, phone rang.

Me: Mom, Are you sure its Sundays newspaper?

Mom: (As silently and politely as possible…) Ahh,Yes..But it was Eenadu news paper..Not Xxxxx…

Me: (Absolutely no feelings. Seriously I cant punish my mom for over spamming my email..) Okay.

Repeat the entire process…Check..Check..Check…Check with almost no excitement and energy….

Finally land on the one piece of photo that had bunch of kids trying to pose.

Mom: Did you see the picture? Isnt he adorable?

Me: Mom..Where is he?

Mom: Oh…He is RIGHT IN MIDDLE of the picture. See, he is the tallest and fairest guy in red dress.

Right in middle…my foot. Check out the picture and tell me.

 

Oh..By the way if you are trying to find him too…he is the boy in red, the tallest, fairest and the cutest….Okay seriously….He is the fourth kid from the left..In the background..wearing what just seems about like a red checks shirt and a brown pant.

And thats how the story ended. All the drama finally paid off after I kept looking at the picture over and over again. It seemed like it was just yesterday that my dad called and told me ‘Madhu just delivered a boy’..It seemed it was just yesterday that he spilled his food for the first time and started crying before we could say anything. It seems like, it was just yesterday that he did a lot of first-time things, but he is already dancing and performing on stage. Hey that was really his first time too…

6 thoughts on “Finding Little Swami

Leave a Reply

